Awards & Winners

1983 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1983 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1983 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

Isaac Asimov

Honored for : Foundation's Edge

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Arthur C. Clarke 2010: Odyssey Two
Hilbert Schenck A Rose for Armageddon
R. A. Lafferty Aurelia
Mike Resnick Birthright: The Book of Man
Roger Zelazny Coils
Fred Saberhagen Coils
Donald Kingsbury Courtship Rite
Roger Zelazny Eye of Cat
Isaac Asimov Foundation's Edge
Robert A. Heinlein Friday
Marion Zimmer Bradley Hawkmistress!
Brian Aldiss Helliconia Spring
Douglas Adams Life, the Universe and Everything
S. P. Somtow Light on the Sound
C. J. Cherryh Merchanter's Luck
Spider Robinson Mindkiller
Michael Bishop No Enemy But Time
Alan Dean Foster Nor Crystal Tears
John Thomas Sladek Roderick
Frederik Pohl Starburst
Anne McCaffrey Crystal Singer
Steven Barnes The Descent of Anansi
Larry Niven The Descent of Anansi
Paul O. Williams The fall of the shell
Julian May The Golden Torc
C. J. Cherryh The Pride of Chanur
Frank Herbert The White Plague
Parke Godwin Wintermind
Marvin Kaye Wintermind
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

Gene Wolfe

Honored for : The Sword of the Lictor

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
M. John Harrison In Viriconium
Gillian Bradshaw In Winter's Shadow
Piers Anthony Juxtaposition
Piers Anthony Ogre, Ogre
Kate Wilhelm Oh, Susannah!
David Eddings Pawn of prophecy
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro Tempting Fate
Nancy Springer The Black Beast
Charles L. Grant The Bloodwind
Robin McKinley The Blue Sword
Gene Wolfe The Citadel of the Autarch
Michael Talbot The Delicate Dependency
Stephen R. Donaldson The One Tree
Gene Wolfe The Sword of the Lictor
Glen Cook The Swordbearer
Philip K. Dick The Transmigration of Timothy Archer
Piers Anthony Centaur Aisle
Terry Brooks The Elfstones of Shannara
George R. R. Martin Fevre Dream
Locus Award for Best First Novel

Donald Kingsbury

Honored for : Courtship Rite

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Michael McCollum A Greater Infinity
Donald Kingsbury Courtship Rite
Sandra Miesel Dreamrider
Sharon Webb Earthchild
P. C. Hodgell God Stalk
Diana L. Paxson Lady of Light
Raymond E. Feist Magician
Janny Wurts Sorcerer's Legacy
Michael Talbot The Delicate Dependency
Lou Goble The Kalevide
Lisa Goldstein The Red Magician
Pat Murphy The Shadow Hunter
David Langford The Space Eater
Warren Norwood The Windhover Tapes: An Image of Voices
Locus Award for Best Short Story

Ursula K. Le Guin

Honored for : Sur

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Connie Willis A Letter from the Clearys
Barry N. Malzberg Blair House
David Brin Coexistence
Barry N. Malzberg Corridors
Avram Davidson Dr. Bhumbo Singh
Robert Silverberg Gianni
Howard Waldrop God's Hooks!
Howard Waldrop Ike at the Mike
Stephen King It Grows on You
Keith Roberts Kitemaster
Bill Johnson Meet Me At Apogee
Spider Robinson Melancholy Elephants
Greg Bear Petra
George C. Chesbro Poems to Play on the Piccolo
Bruce Sterling Spider Rose
Ursula K. Le Guin Sur
James Tiptree, Jr. The Boy Who Waterskied to Forever
Pamela Sargent The Broken Hoop
Tim Sullivan The Comedian
Michael P. Kube-McDowell The Garden of the Cognoscenti
Michael Shea The Horror on the #33
Michael Swanwick The Man Who Met Picasso
Dan Simmons The River Styx Flows Upstream
James White The Scourge
Pat Cadigan The Sorceress in Spite of Herself
Hilbert Schenck The Theology of Water
Charles L. Grant What in Solemn Silence
Tanith Lee Written in Water
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Terry Carr

Honored for : The Best Science Fiction of the Year 11

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Mark Alan Arnold Elsewhere Vol 2
Terri Windling Elsewhere Vol 2
Terry Carr Fantasy Annual V
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 7 (1945)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 7 (1945)
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 8 (1946)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 8 (1946)
Jerry Pournelle Nebula Award Stories Sixteen
Alan Ryan Perpetual Light
Charles L. Grant Shadows 5
Robert Asprin Storm Season
Donald A. Wollheim The 1982 Annual World's Best SF
Arthur W. Saha The 1982 Annual World's Best SF
Melissa Singer The Berkley Showcase Vol. 5
Victoria Schochet The Berkley Showcase Vol. 5
Edward L. Ferman The Best from Fantasy & Science Fiction: 24th Edition
Terry Carr The Best Science Fiction of the Year #11
Annette McComas The Eureka Years
James Gunn The Road to Science Fiction #4: From Here to Forever
Arthur W. Saha The Year's Best Fantasy Stories: 8
Karl Edward Wagner The Year's Best Horror Stories: Series X
Terry Carr Universe 12
Frederik Pohl Yesterday's Tomorrows