Awards & Winners

1985 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1985 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1985 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

Larry Niven

Honored for : The Integral Trees

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
David Gerrold A Day for Damnation
Gregory Benford Across the Sea of Suns
C. J. Cherryh Chanur's Venture
Richard A. Lupoff Circumpolar!
Marion Zimmer Bradley City of Sorcery
Octavia E. Butler Clay\u2019s Ark
John Varley Demon
K. W. Jeter Dr. Adder
David R. Palmer Emergence
Gene Wolfe Free Live Free
Lucius Shepard Green Eyes
Frederik Pohl Heechee Rendezvous
Frank Herbert Heretics of Dune
Kim Stanley Robinson Icehenge
Suzette Haden Elgin Native Tongue
William Gibson Neuromancer
F. M. Busby Star Rebel
Samuel R. Delany Stars in My Pocket Like Grains of Sand
Hilbert Schenck Steam Bird
Julian May The Adversary
Gordon R. Dickson The Final Encyclopedia
Christopher Priest The Glamour
Larry Niven The Integral Trees
Jack Dann The Man Who Melted
Vernor Vinge The Peace War
David Brin The Practice Effect
Kim Stanley Robinson The Wild Shore
Howard Waldrop Them Bones
Harry Harrison West of Eden
Joan D. Vinge World's End
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

Robert A. Heinlein

Honored for : Job: A Comedy of Justice

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
David Eddings Enchanters' End Game
Diana Wynne Jones Fire and Hemlock
Robert Silverberg Gilgamesh the King
R. A. Lafferty Half a Sky
Robert A. Heinlein Job: A Comedy of Justice
Richard Adams Maia
Charles de Lint Moonheart
Robert Holdstock Mythago Wood
Angela Carter Nights at the Circus
R. A. MacAvoy Raphael
Lloyd Alexander The Beggar Queen
Katherine Kurtz The Bishop's Heir
Thomas M. Disch The Businessman: A Tale of Terror
T. E. D. Klein The Ceremonies
Robin McKinley The Hero and the Crown
Greg Bear The Infinity Concerto
Barbara Hambly The Ladies of Mandrigyn
Peter Straub The Talisman
Stephen King The Talisman
Fred Saberhagen The Third Book of Swords
S. P. Somtow Vampire Junction
Michael Bishop Who Made Stevie Crye?
Piers Anthony Bearing an Hourglass
Diana L. Paxson Brisingamen
Jane Yolen Cards of Grief
David Eddings Castle of Wizardry
Piers Anthony Crewel Lye: A Caustic Yarn
R. A. MacAvoy Damiano's Lute
Locus Award for Best First Novel

Kim Stanley Robinson

Honored for : The Wild Shore

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
David Mace Demon-4
Gwyneth Jones Divine Endurance
Jerry Yulsman Elleander Morning
David R. Palmer Emergence
Lewis Shiner Frontera
Lucius Shepard Green Eyes
William Gibson Neuromancer
Glenn Harcourt Palimpsests
Carter Scholz Palimpsests
Kirk Mitchell Procurator
Geary Gravel The Alchemists
T. E. D. Klein The Ceremonies
Melissa Scott The Game Beyond
Charles de Lint The Riddle of the Wren
Kim Stanley Robinson The Wild Shore
Howard Waldrop Them Bones
Joseph H. Delaney Valentina: Soul in Sapphire
Marc Stiegler Valentina: Soul in Sapphire
Charles Whitmore Winter's Daughter: The Saying of Signe Ragnhilds-Datter
Locus Award for Best Short Story

Lucius Shepard

Honored for : Salvador

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Gene Wolfe A Cabin on the Coast
Patricia A. McKillip A Troll and Two Roses
Edward Bryant Armageddon Between Sets
Elizabeth A. Lynn At the Embassy Club
Terence M. Green Barking Dogs
Joanna Russ Bodies
Tanith Lee Bright Burning Tiger
Frederik Pohl Criticality
James Patrick Kelly Crow
Gardner Dozois Dinner Party
Pamela Sargent Fears
John M. Ford Heat of Fusion
Howard Waldrop Helpless, Helpless
Keith Roberts Kitemaster
Gardner Dozois Morning Child
William Gibson New Rose Hotel
Marta Randall On Cannon Beach
Ben Bova Out of Time
Kim Stanley Robinson Ridge Running
Lucius Shepard Salvador
Kate Wilhelm Strangeness, Charm and Spin
Bruce Sterling Sunken Gardens
Robert Silverberg The Affair
George Alec Effinger The Aliens Who Knew, I Mean, Everything
David Brin The Crystal Spheres
George Zebrowski The Eichmann Variations
Brian Aldiss The Gods in Flight
Gene Wolfe The Map
John Middleton Murry, Jr. The Scent of Silverdill
Robert Silverberg Tourist Trade
Michael Swanwick When the Music's Over
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Michael Bishop

Honored for : Light Years And Dark

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Elizabeth Mitchell Alien Stars
Mark Alan Arnold Elsewhere, Vol. III
Terri Windling Elsewhere, Vol. III
Terri Windling Faery!
Jim Baen Far Frontiers
Jerry Pournelle Far Frontiers
Susan Shwartz Habitats
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 11 (1949)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 11 (1949)
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 12 (1950)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 12 (1950)
Michael Bishop Light Years And Dark
J. N. Williamson Masques
Larry Niven More Magic
Alan Ryan Night Visions No 1
Charles L. Grant Shadows 7
Donald A. Wollheim The 1984 Annual World's Best SF
Arthur W. Saha The 1984 Annual World's Best SF
Terry Carr The Best Science Fiction of the Year 13
Damon Knight The Clarion Awards
George R. R. Martin The John W. Campbell Awards, Volume 5
Marta Randall Nebula Awards No 19
Arthur W. Saha The Year's Best Fantasy Stories: 10
Karl Edward Wagner The Year's Best Horror Stories: Series XII
Gardner Dozois The Year's Best Science Fiction: First Annual Collection
Terry Carr Universe 14
Robert Asprin Wings of Omen
Lynn Abbey Wings of Omen