Awards & Winners

1987 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1987 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1987 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

Orson Scott Card

Honored for : Speaker for the Dead

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
C. J. Cherryh Chanur's Homecoming
William Gibson Count Zero
Michael P. Kube-McDowell Enigma
Isaac Asimov Foundation and Earth
Walter Jon Williams Hardwired
Gregory Benford Heart of the Comet
David Brin Heart of the Comet
William Rossow Lear's Daughters
Marjorie Kellogg Lear's Daughters
Vernor Vinge Marooned in Realtime
Anne McCaffrey Nerilka's Story
F. M. Busby Rebels' Seed
Mike Resnick Santiago: a Myth of the Far Future
Orson Scott Card Speaker for the Dead
Robert Silverberg Star of Gypsies
Steve Boyett The Architect of Sleep
Frederik Pohl The Coming of the Quantum Cats
Gordon R. Dickson The Forever Man
Margaret Atwood The Handmaid's Tale
Jack McDevitt The Hercules Text
Donald Kingsbury The Moon Goddess and the Son
Charles Sheffield Nimrod Hunt
Bob Shaw The Ragged Astronauts
Arthur C. Clarke The Songs of Distant Earth
Lois McMaster Bujold The Warrior's Apprentice
James K. Morrow This is the Way the World Ends
Pamela Sargent Venus of Dreams
George Alec Effinger When Gravity Fails
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

Gene Wolfe

Honored for : Soldier of the Mist

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Raymond E. Feist A Darkness at Sethanon
John Morressy A Voice for Princess
Roger Zelazny Blood of Amber
Barbara Hambly Dragonsbane
Theodore Sturgeon Godbody
James Blaylock Homunculus
Stephen King It
Sheri S. Tepper Jinian Star-Eye
Terry Brooks Magic Kingdom for Sale -- Sold!
Esther Friesner New York by Knight
Gene Wolfe Soldier of the Mist
Terry Bisson Talking Man
Guy Gavriel Kay The Darkest Road
Michael Moorcock The Dragon in the Sword
Pat Murphy The Falling Woman
Peter S. Beagle The Folk of the Air
Judith Tarr The Hounds of God
Ramsey Campbell The Hungry Moon
Poul Anderson Roma Mater
Karen Kruse Anderson Roma Mater
Stephen R. Donaldson The Mirror of Her Dreams
Katherine Kurtz The Quest for Saint Camber
Greg Bear The Serpent Mage
Geoff Ryman The Unconquered Country
R. A. MacAvoy Twisting the Rope
Piers Anthony Wielding a Red Sword
Robin Hobb Wizard of the Pigeons
Charles de Lint Yarrow
Locus Award for Best First Novel

Jack McDevitt

Honored for : The Hercules Text

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Anne Moroz No Safe Place
Terry A. Adams Sentience: A Novel of First Contact
Lois McMaster Bujold Shards of Honor
Deborah Turner Harris The Burning Stone
Leo Frankowski The Cross-Time Engineer
Kara Dalkey The Curse of Sagamore
Thomas Thurston Thomas The Doomsday Effect
Robert R. Chase The Game of Fox and Lion
Jack McDevitt The Hercules Text
Pat O'Shea The Hounds of the Morrigan
Michael Cassutt The Star Country
Richard Bowes Warchild
Tom Deitz Windmaster's Bane
Bradley Denton Wrack and Roll
Robert Charles Wilson A Hidden Place
Katharine Kerr Daggerspell
Katharine Eliska Kimbriel Fire Sanctuary
Locus Award for Best Short Story

Isaac Asimov

Honored for : Robot Dreams

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Michael Bishop Alien Graffiti
Harry Turtledove And So to Bed
Robert Silverberg Blindsight
Kim Stanley Robinson Down and Out in the Year 2000
Karen Joy Fowler Face Value
Howard Waldrop Fair Game
Lewis Shiner Jeff Beck
Suzette Haden Elgin Lo, How an Oak E'er Blooming
Kim Stanley Robinson Our Town
Nancy Kress Phone Repairs
Pat Cadigan Pretty Boy Crossover
James Patrick Kelly Rat
Isaac Asimov Robot Dreams
Scott Baker Sea Change
Paul Di Filippo Skintwister
Tom Maddox Snake-Eyes
Robert Charles Wilson State of the Art
Damon Knight Strangers on Paradise
Greg Bear Tangents
Nancy Springer The Boy Who Plaited Manes
George Zebrowski The Idea Trap
Howard Waldrop The Lions Are Asleep This Night
Robert Holdstock Thorn
Lucius Shepard Voyage South from Thousand Willows
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Gardner Dozois

Honored for : The Year's Best Science Fiction: Third Annual Collection

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Ian Watson Afterlives - V986
Pamela Sargent Afterlives - V986
Dennis Etchison Cutting Edge
Janet Morris Heroes in Hell Series
Gregory Benford Hitler Victorious
Martin H. Greenberg Hitler Victorious
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 15 (1953)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 15 (1953)
Algis Budrys L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Volume II
Bruce Sterling Mirrorshades
George Zebrowski Nebula Awards 21
Charles L. Grant Shadows 9
Darrell Schweitzer Tales from the Spaceport Bar
George H. Scithers Tales from the Spaceport Bar
Terry Carr Terry Carr's Best Science Fiction of the Year #15
Donald A. Wollheim The 1986 Annual World's Best SF
Arthur W. Saha The 1986 Annual World's Best SF
Isaac Asimov The Hugo Winners, Volume 5
Terry Carr The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Vol. IV
Arthur W. Saha The Year's Best Fantasy Stories: 12
Karl Edward Wagner The Year's Best Horror Stories: XIV
Gardner Dozois The Year's Best Science Fiction: Third Annual Collection
Piers Anthony Uncollected Stars
Elizabeth Mitchell Under the Wheel
Terry Carr Universe 16
George R. R. Martin Wild Cards