Awards & Winners

1989 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1989 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1989 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

C. J. Cherryh

Honored for : Cyteen

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Joe Clifford Faust The Company Man
Sheri S. Tepper The Gate to Women's Country
Kim Stanley Robinson The Gold Coast
Iain Banks The Player of Games
Pamela Sargent Venus Of Shadows
Rudy Rucker Wetware
Octavia E. Butler Adulthood Rites
Michael P. Kube-McDowell Alternities
Nancy Kress An Alien Light
Jack Vance Araminta Station
Robert Silverberg At Winter's End
Lois McMaster Bujold Brothers in Arms
Joan D. Vinge Catspaw
John Brunner Children of the Thunder
Hilbert Schenck Chronosequence
Kate Wilhelm Crazy time
C. J. Cherryh Cyteen
Lewis Shiner Deserted Cities of the Heart
Anne McCaffrey Dragonsdawn
Greg Bear Eternity
Lois McMaster Bujold Falling Free
Terry Bisson Fire on the Mountain
Janet Kagan Hellspark
Bruce Sterling Islands in the Net
Mike Resnick Ivory: A Legend of Past and Future
William Gibson Mona Lisa Overdrive
Marc Laidlaw Neon Lotus
Roger MacBride Allen Orphan of Creation: Contact with the Human Past
Isaac Asimov Prelude to Foundation
Paul Preuss Starfire
Jack Womack Terraplane
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

Orson Scott Card

Honored for : Red Prophet

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Craig Strete Death in the Spirit House
Esther Friesner Druid's Blood
Charles de Lint Greenmantle
David Eddings King of the Murgos
Robert Holdstock Lavondyss
Orson Scott Card Red Prophet
Susan Shwartz Silk Roads and Shadows
Jane Yolen Sister Light, Sister Dark
Jonathan Carroll Sleeping in Flame
Patricia A. McKillip The Changeling Sea
Tad Williams The Dragonbone Chair
Elizabeth Ann Scarborough The Healer's War
James Blaylock The Last Coin
Kara Dalkey The Nightingale
C. J. Cherryh The Paladin
Robin Hobb The Reindeer People
Barry Hughart The Story of the Stone
Diana L. Paxson The White Raven
Tanith Lee The White Serpent
Gene Wolfe There Are Doors
Michael Bishop Unicorn Mountain
Michaela Roessner Walkabout Woman
Tom Holt Who's Afraid of Beowulf?
Terry Pratchett Wyrd Sisters
A. A. Attanasio Wyvern
Locus Award for Best First Novel

Ian McDonald

Honored for : Desolation Road

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Andrea I. Alton Demon of Undoing
Ian McDonald Desolation Road
Melanie Rawn Dragon Prince
William Thomas Quick Dreams of Flesh and Sand
Matt Ruff Fool on the Hill
Paul J. McAuley Four Hundred Billion Stars
Richard Paul Russo Inner Eclipse
William Sanders Journey to Fusang
Eric Vinicoff Maiden Flight
Richard Kadrey Metrophage
Stephen Fine Molly Dear: The Autobiography of an Android
Brad Linaweaver Moon of Ice
David Zindell Neverness
Kevin J. Anderson Resurrection, Inc.
Elizabeth Moon Sheepfarmer's Daughter
Gail van Asten The Blind Knight
Storm Constantine The Enchantments of Flesh and Spirit
M. Lucie Chin The Fairy of Ku-She
Mary Stanton The Heavenly Horse from the Outermost West
Delia Sherman Through a Brazen Mirror
Phillip C. Jennings Tower to the Sky
Michaela Roessner Walkabout Woman
Locus Award for Best Short Story

Harlan Ellison

Honored for : Eidolons

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Michael Swanwick A Midwinter's Tale
Lisa Goldstein After the Master
Gregory Benford At the Double Solstice
Nancy Kress Craps
Bob Shaw Dark Night in Toyland
Lisa Goldstein Death Is Different
D. Alexander Smith Dying in Hull
Harlan Ellison Eidolons
James Patrick Kelly Home Front
Robert Silverberg House of Bones
Nancy Kress In Memoriam
Pat Cadigan It Was the Heat
Mike Resnick Kirinyaga
Jack McDevitt Last Contact
Karen Joy Fowler Lily Red
Elissa Malcohn Moments of Clarity
John Kessel Mrs. Shummel Exits a Winner
Bruce Sterling Our Neural Chernobyl
Nancy Kress Philippa's Hands
Geoffrey A. Landis Ripples in the Dirac Sea
George Alec Effinger Slow, Slow Burn
Eileen Gunn Stable Strategies for Middle Management
Neal Barrett Stairs
Amy Bechtel The Circus Horse
Robert Silverberg The Dead Man's Eyes
Jack McDevitt The Fort Moxie Branch
Bruce McAllister The Girl Who Loved Animals
David Brin The Giving Plague
Jane Yolen The Quiet Monk
Michael Blumlein The Thing Itself
Carter Scholz Transients
Thomas M. Disch Voices of the Kill
Howard Waldrop Wild, Wild Horses
Lucius Shepard Youthful Folly
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Lou Aronica, Shawna McCarthy

Honored for : Full Spectrum

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Ellen Datlow Blood Is Not Enough
Lou Aronica Full Spectrum
Shawna McCarthy Full Spectrum
Alan Ryan Haunting Women
John Clute Interzone: The 3rd Anthology
Simon Ounsley Interzone: The 3rd Anthology
David Pringle Interzone: The 3rd Anthology
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 18 (1956)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 18 (1956)
Algis Budrys L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Volume IV
David G. Hartwell Masterpieces of Fantasy and Enchantment
George Zebrowski Nebula Awards 22
Douglas E Winter Night Visions 5
Anonymous Night Visions 6
Robert Holdstock Other Edens 2
Christopher Evans Other Edens 2
Douglas E Winter Prime Evil
Kristine Kathryn Rusch Pulphouse: The Hardback Magazine: Issue One: Fall 1988
David Schow Silver Scream
Alan Bard Newcomer Spell Singers
Marion Zimmer Bradley Sword and Sorceress V
George Zebrowski Synergy: New Science Fiction, Number 2
Beth Meacham Terry\u2019s Universe
Donald A. Wollheim The 1988 Annual World's Best SF
Arthur W. Saha The 1988 Annual World's Best SF
Larry Niven Man-Kzin Wars
Ellen Datlow The Year's Best Fantasy: First Annual Collection
Terri Windling The Year's Best Fantasy: First Annual Collection
Karl Edward Wagner The Year's Best Horror Stories: XVI
Gardner Dozois The Year's Best Science Fiction: Fifth Annual Collection
Tim Sullivan Tropical Chills
Stanley Schmidt Unknown
Stefan Dziemianowicz Weird Tales: 32 Unearthed Terrors
Martin H. Greenberg Weird Tales: 32 Unearthed Terrors
Robert Weinberg Weird Tales: 32 Unearthed Terrors
George R. R. Martin Aces Abroad