Awards & Winners

MTV Video Music Award

An MTV Video Music Award is an award presented by the cable channel MTV to honor the best in the music video medium. Originally conceived as an alternative to the Grammy Awards, the annual MTV Video Music Awards ceremony has often been called the "Super Bowl for youth", an acknowledgment of the VMA ceremony's ability to draw millions of youth from teens to 20-somethings each year. By 2001, the VMA had become a coveted award. The statue given to winners is an astronaut on the moon, one of the earliest representations of MTV. The statue was conceived by Manhattan Design—also designers of the original MTV logo—based on the 1981 "Top of the Hour" animation created by Fred Seibert, produced by Alan Goodman, and produced by Buzz Potamkin at Buzzco Associates. The annual VMA ceremony occurs before the end of summer and held either in late August or mid-September, and broadcast live on MTV. The first VMA ceremony was held in 1984 at New York City's Radio City Music Hall. The ceremonies are normally held in either New York City or Los Angeles. However, the ceremonies have also been hosted in Miami and Las Vegas.

|   2014 MTV Video Music Awards  |   2013 MTV Video Music Awards  |   2012 MTV Video Music Awards  |
MTV Video Music Award Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the MTV Video Music Award since 1984.

MTV Video Music Award


Check all the winners of 2014 MTV Video Music Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Drake, Majid Jordan
Honored for : Hold On (We\u2019re Going Home)
Sia Furler
Honored for : Chandelier
(Choreographer: Ryan Heffington)
Beyoncé Knowles
Honored for : Pretty Hurts
(Director of Photography: Darren Lew & Jackson Hunt)
Honored for : The Writing\u2019s On The Wall
(Special Effects: 1stAveMachine)
Arcade Fire
Honored for : Reflektor
(Art Director: Anastasia Masaro)
Honored for : Rap God
(Editor: Ken Mowe)
DJ Snake, Lil Jon
Honored for : Turn Down For What
(Directors: DANIELS)