Awards & Winners

National Book Award

The National Book Awards are a set of annual U.S. literary awards. At the final "National Book Awards Ceremony" every November, the National Book Foundation presents the NBAs and two lifetime achievement awards to authors. The National Book Awards were established in 1936 by the American Booksellers Association, abandoned during World War II, and re-established by three book industry organizations in 1950. Non-U.S. authors and publishers were eligible for the pre-war awards. Now they are presented to U.S. authors for books published in the United States roughly during the award year. The nonprofit National Book Foundation was established in 1988 to administer and enhance the Book Awards and "move beyond [them] into the fields of education and literacy", primarily by sponsoring public appearances by writers. Its mission is "to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of good writing in America." In 2010, there were 1,115 books nominated for the four award categories, led by the Nonfiction category with 435 nominations. The 2011 ceremony was held on November 16 in New York City.

|   2013 National Book Awards Ceremony  |   2012 National Book Awards Ceremony  |   2011 National Book Awards Ceremony  |
National Book Award Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the National Book Award since 1935.

National Book Award


Check all the winners of 2013 National Book Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
James McBride
Honored for : The Good Lord Bird
Mary Szybist
Honored for : Incarnadine: Poems
George Packer
Honored for : The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America