Awards & Winners

1991 National Book Award

Check winners and nominations of 1991 National Book Award. Check awards winners of 1991 National Book Awards Ceremony. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

1991 National Book Awards Ceremony

National Book Award for Fiction

Norman Rush

Honored for : Mating

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Norman Rush Mating
Louis Begley Wartime Lies
Stephen Dixon Frog: A Novel
Stanley Elkin The MacGuffin
Sandra Scofield Beyond deserving
National Book Award for Nonfiction

Orlando Patterson

Honored for : Freedom

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Orlando Patterson Freedom
E. J. Dionne Why Americans Hate Politics
Melissa Fay Greene Praying For Sheetrock
R. W. B. Lewis The Jameses: A Family Narrative
Diane Middlebrook Anne Sexton: A Biography
National Book Award for Poetry

Philip Levine

Honored for : What Work Is

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Philip Levine What Work Is
Andrew Hudgins The never-ending
Linda McCarriston Eva-Mary
Adrienne Rich An Atlas of the Difficult World
Marilyn Nelson The Homeplace