Awards & Winners

National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science is an honor bestowed by the President of the United States to individuals in science and engineering who have made important contributions to the advancement of knowledge in the fields of behavioral and social sciences, biology, chemistry, engineering, mathematics and physics. The twelve member presidential Committee on the National Medal of Science is responsible for selecting award recipients and is administered by the National Science Foundation.

|   2011 National Medals Ceremony  |   2010 National Medals Ceremony  |   2009 National Medals Ceremony  |
National Medal of Science Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the National Medal of Science since 1962.

National Medal of Science


Check all the winners of 2011 National Medal of Science.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Lucille Shapiro
(For the pioneering discovery that the bacterial cell is controlled by an integrated genetic circuit functioning in time and space that serves as a systems engineering paradigm underlying cell differentiation and ultimately the generation of diversity in all organisms.)
Leroy Hood
(For pioneering spirit, passion, vision, inventions, and leadership combined with unique cross-disciplinary approaches resulting in entrepreneurial ventures, transformative commercial products, and several new scientific disciplines that have challenged and transformed the fields of biotechnology, genomics, proteomics, personalized medicine, and science education.)
Sallie W. Chisholm
(For contributions to the discovery and understanding of the dominant photosynthetic organisms in the ocean, promotion of the field of microbial oceanography, and influence on marine policy and management.)
Anne Treisman
(For a 50-year career of penetrating originality and depth that has led to the understanding of fundamental attentional limits in the human mind and brain.)
Allen J. Bard
(For contributions in electrochemistry, including electroluminescence, semiconductor photoelectrochemistry, electroanalytical chemistry, and the invention of the scanning electrochemical microscope.)
M. Frederick Hawthorne
(For highly creative pioneering research in inorganic, organometallic, and medicinal borane chemistry, sustained and profound contributions to scientific and technical advice related to national security, and for effective, prolific, and devoted service to the broad field of chemical sciences.)
Solomon W. Golomb
(For pioneering work in shift register sequences that changed the course of communications from analog to digital, and for numerous innovations in reliable and secure space, radar, cellular, wireless, and spread-spectrum communications.)
Barry Mazur
(For original and landmark contributions to differential topology, number theory, and arithmetic algebraic geometry, where, among other applications, his work was foundational to Wiles proof of Fermat Last Theorem, and for his dedication to communicating subtle mathematical ideas to the broader public.)
John B. Goodenough
(For groundbreaking cathode research that led to the first commercial lithium ion battery, which has since revolutionized consumer electronics with technical applications for portable and stationary power.)
Sidney Drell
(For contributions to quantum field theory and quantum chromodynamics, application of science to inform national policies in security and intelligence, and distinguished contributions as an advisor to the United States Government.)
Sandra Faber
(For leadership in numerous path-breaking studies of extra-galactic astronomy and galaxy formation, and for oversight of the construction of important instruments, including the Keck telescopes.)
Sylvester James Gates
(For contributions to the mathematics of supersymmetry in particle, field, and string theories and extraordinary efforts to engage the public on the beauty and wonder of fundamental physics.)