Awards & Winners

National Society of Film Critics Experimental Film Award

National Society of Film Critics Awards

Check all the winners of National Society of Film Critics Experimental Film Award presented under National Society of Film Critics Awards since 1991 .

Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Verena Paravel

Honored for : Leviathan

Jafar Panahi

Honored for : This Is Not a Film

Ken Jacobs

Honored for : Seeking the Monkey King

Ken Jacobs

Honored for : Razzle Dazzle: The Lost World

John Gianvito

Honored for : Profit Motive and the Whispering Wind

David Lynch

Honored for : Inland Empire

William Greaves

Honored for : Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take One, Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take 2 1/2
(William Greaves\u2019 remarkable investigation into the nature of the acting process and power relationships on a movie set)

James Benning

Honored for : 13 Lakes, Ten Skies, One Way Boogie Woogie / 27 Years Later
(Few have done more over the last thirty years to expand the sensory and temporal boundaries of moving pictures.)

Richard Linklater

Honored for : Waking Life

Guy Maddin

Honored for : The Heart of the World
(Guy Maddin packs a feature\u2019s worth of pyrotechnic wit into this six-minute tribute to the era of Russian Formalism, a gem of filmcraft and cinephilic intelligence.)

Robert Beavers

(For his contributions to the field of avant-garde film as exemplified by his 1999 program in the New York Film Festival as well as his ongoing work as a visionary filmmaker and his activities in restoring and preserving the films of Gregory J. Markopoulos)

Alexander Sokurov

Honored for : Mother and Son

Latcho Drom

Béla Tarr

Honored for : Satantango

Lewis Klahr

Honored for : The Pharaoh's Belt

Rock Hudson's Home Movies