Awards & Winners

National Television Awards

The National Television Awards is a British television awards ceremony, broadcast by the ITV network and initiated in 1995. The National Television Awards are the most prominent ceremony for which the results are voted on by the general public. Because of the way the awards are decided, winners are not given the title "Best", but rather "Most Popular". The first ceremony was held in August 1995 and was hosted by Eamonn Holmes. From 1996 onwards it was traditionally held annually in October and hosted by Sir Trevor McDonald. However, after no ceremony was held in 2009, McDonald stepped down from the role, which passed to Dermot O'Leary. The January 2010 ceremony was hosted at the London Oâ‚‚ Arena. Categories at the 2006 Awards ceremony, which was held on the evening on 31 October were: Entertainment Presenter, TV Contender, Entertainment Programme, Reality Programme, Drama, Serial Drama, Newcomer, Actor, Actress, Quiz Programme, Daytime Programme, Comedy and Factual Programme. Viewers can vote for the short-list of nominees from an initial long list prepared by ITV, and then later can vote by text message, the official website and phone for which of the nominees in each category should win. The awards ceremony, held at the Royal Albert Hall, is shown in full by ITV. This is sometimes live, but has also been the evening after it takes place, by which time the results have usually been widely reported in the British media.

|   19th National Television Awards  |   18th National Television Awards  |   17th National Television Awards  |
National Television Awards Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the National Television Awards since 1995.

National Television Awards


Check all the winners of 2014 National Television Awards.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)