Awards & Winners

Phoenix Award

Phoenix Award

The Phoenix Award is a lifetime achievement award for a science fiction professional "who has done a great deal for Southern Fandom." The Phoenix is given annually by DeepSouthCon, a bidded convention held in different states of the former Confederacy.
Date Established : 1970

Check all the winners of Phoenix Award presented under Phoenix Award since 1970 .

Peter Dickinson

Honored for : Eva

Margaret Mahy

Honored for : Memory

Diana Wynne Jones

Honored for : Howl's Moving Castle

Margaret Mahy

Honored for : The Catalogue of the Universe

Berlie Doherty

Honored for : White Peak Farm

Ivan Southall

Honored for : The Long Night Watch

Zibby Oneal

Honored for : A Formal Feeling

Peter Dickinson

Honored for : The Seventh Raven

Monica Hughes

Honored for : The Keeper of the Isis Light

E. L. Konigsburg

Honored for : Throwing Shadows

Jill Paton Walsh

Honored for : A Chance Child

Robert Cormier

Honored for : I Am the Cheese

Alan Garner

Honored for : The Stone Book

Laurence Yep

Honored for : Dragonwings

Katherine Paterson

Honored for : Of Nightingales That Weep

Nina Bawden

Honored for : Carrie's War

Mollie Hunter

Honored for : A Sound of Chariots

Jane Gardam

Honored for : A Long Way from Verona

Sylvia Engdahl

Honored for : Enchantress from the Stars

Helen Cresswell

Honored for : The Nightwatchmen

Erik Christian Haugaard

Honored for : The Rider and his Horse

Leon Garfield

Honored for : Smith

Robert J. Burch

Honored for : Queenie Peavy

Rosemary Sutcliff

Honored for : The Mark of the Horse Lord