Awards & Winners

1956 Pulitzer Prize

Check winners and nominations of 1956 Pulitzer Prize. Check awards winners of 1956 Pulitzer Prize. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

1956 Pulitzer Prize

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

MacKinlay Kantor

Honored for : Andersonville
Pulitzer Prize for Drama

Albert Hackett, Frances Goodrich

Honored for : The Diary of Anne Frank
Pulitzer Prize for Music

Ernst Toch

Honored for : Symphony No. 3
Pulitzer Prize for Public Service


(For courageous exposure of corruption in public office, which led to the resignation of a district attorney and the conviction of one of his associates.)
Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting

Arthur Daley

(For his outstanding coverage and commentary on the world of sports in his daily column, Sports of the Times.)
Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting

Charles L. Bartlett

(For his original disclosures that led to the resignation of Harold E. Talbott as Secretary of the Air Force.)
Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting

William Randolph Hearst, Jr., J. Kingsbury-Smith, Frank Conniff

(For a series of exclusive interviews with the leaders of the Soviet Union.)
Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Writing

Lauren K. Soth

(For the editorial inviting a farm delegation from the Soviet Union to visit Iowa, which led directly to the Russian farm visit to the U.S.)
Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning

Robert York

(For his cartoon, 'Achilles' showing a bulging figure of American prosperity tapering to a weak heel labeled 'Farm Prices.')
Pulitzer Prize for Photography

New York Daily News

(For its consistently excellent news picture coverage in 1955, an outstanding example of which is its photo, Bomber Crashes in Street.)
Pulitzer Prize for Biography or Autobiography

Talbot Hamlin

Honored for : Benjamin Henry Latrobe
Pulitzer Prize for Poetry

Elizabeth Bishop

Honored for : Poems: North & south
Pulitzer Prize for History

Richard Hofstadter

Honored for : The Age of Reform
Pulitzer Prize for Breaking News Reporting

Lee Hills

Honored for : Detroit Free Press
([Local Reporting Edition Time] For his aggressive, resourceful and comprehensive front page reporting of the United Automobile Workers' negotiations with Ford and General Motors for a guaranteed annual wage.)