Awards & Winners

Tir na n-Og Award

The Tir na n-Og Awards are a set of annual children's literary awards in Wales from 1976. They are presented by the Welsh Books Council to the best books published during the preceding calendar year in each of three awards categories, one English-language and two Welsh-language. Their purpose is "[to raise] the standard of children's and young people's books and to encourage the buying and reading of good books." There is no restriction to fiction or prose. Each prize is £1,000. The awards are named for Tír na nÓg, the "Land of the Young", an otherworldly realm in Irish mythology. The English-language award honours one book with an "authentic Welsh background" whose original language is English. It is sponsored by the British Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, Cymru Wales division, and presented at that association's annual conference in May. The Welsh-language Primary Sector and Secondary Sector awards honour one book written for primary school children and one for secondary school children. They are presented at the annual Urdd National Eisteddfod, recently during the first week of June. Since 2011, the Welsh-language awards are co-sponsored by the Cardigan-based publisher Cymdeithas Lyfrau Ceredigion.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Tir na n-Og Award since 1976.

Tir na n-Og Award


Check all the winners of 2009 Tir na n-Og Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Graham Howells
Honored for : Merlin's Magical Creatures