Awards & Winners

Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre

Tony Award

The Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre is a non-competitive award created by the American Theatre Wing in 1990. They are presented to institutions, individuals and/or organizations that have demonstrated extraordinary achievement in theatre, but are not eligible to compete in any of the established Tony Award categories. The Tony Honors "are announced in the autumn. They are bestowed at a separate ceremony that affords recipients a special moment in the spotlight." As explained in Playbill, "In 2003, a new tradition began for the Tony Honors, which were previously announced during the Tony Awards broadcast. Last year, however, the Honors were presented in the fall..." The first recipient was Alfred Drake, who was recognized for his lengthy career in musical theatre.

Check all the winners of Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre presented under Tony Award since 1990 .

Sophia Gennusa, Oona Laurence, Bailey Ryon, Milly Shapiro

Honored for : Matilda the Musical
(The four actresses who created the title role of Matilda The Musical on Broadway)

Theatre Development Fund

Honored for : TDF Open Doors

Gerard Alessandrini

Honored for : Forbidden Broadway

Betty Corwin

Honored for : Theatre on Film and Tape Archive

City Center

Honored for : Encores!

Harvey Schmidt, Tom Jones

Honored for : The Fantasticks