Awards & Winners

World Fantasy Award

The World Fantasy Awards are annual, international awards given to authors and artists who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the field of fantasy. Since 1975, when they were first awarded, they have been handed out at the World Fantasy Convention. The awards have been described as one of the three most prestigious speculative fiction awards, along with the Hugo and Nebula Awards. The awards are considered among the most prestigious in the speculative fiction genre, and can be awarded to any work falling within the realm of fantasy, although some media are restricted to certain categories. World Fantasy Award winners are chosen by a panel of judges, which differs every year. The judges who presided over the 2010 awards were Greg Ketter, Kelly Link, Jim Minz, Jürgen Snoeren, and Gary K. Wolfe. Winners are chosen from groups of nominees, also selected largely by the judges, with two picked by members of the annual WFC. The World Fantasy Awards thus differ significantly in administration from other notable genre awards, such as Hugos or Nebulas. For the Hugos, the nominees and winners are chosen solely by members of the World Science Fiction Convention, while the Nebulas are awards for authors chosen by authors, specifically members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Thus neither the Hugos nor Nebulas have overseeing judges.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the World Fantasy Award since 1975.

World Fantasy Award


Check all the winners of 2009 World Fantasy Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Kij Johnson
Honored for : 26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss
Ekaterina Sedia
Honored for : Paper Cities: An Anthology of Urban Fantasy
Kelly Link, Gavin Grant
(For Small Beer Press and Big Mouth House)
Michael Walsh
(For Howard Waldrop collections from Old Earth Books)