Awards & Winners

World Fantasy Special Award: Professional

World Fantasy Award

This World Fantasy Award is presented to individuals for their outstanding professional work in the fantasy field, and voted by a panel of judges at the World Fantasy Convention. After Neil Gaiman & Charles Vess won the World Fantasy Award for Best Short Fiction in 1991—for the "A Midsummer Night's Dream" issue of The Sandman—comics were restricted to this category.
Date Established : 1975

Check all the winners of World Fantasy Special Award: Professional presented under World Fantasy Award since 1975 .

Kelly Link, Gavin Grant

(For Small Beer Press and Big Mouth House)

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Kelly Link Small Beer Press","Big Mouth House
Gavin Grant Small Beer Press","Big Mouth House
Farah Mendlesohn Rhetorics of Fantasy
Stephen H. Segal Weird Tales
Ann VanderMeer Weird Tales
Jerad Walters A Lovecraft Retrospective: Artists Inspired by H.P. Lovecraft
Jacob Weisman Tachyon Publications

Peter Crowther

(For PS Publishing)

Ellen Asher

(For work at SFBC)

Sean Wallace

(For Prime Books)

S. T. Joshi

(For scholarship)

Peter Crowther

(For PS Publishing)

Gordon Van Gelder

(For The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

Stephen Jones

(For editing)

Jo Fletcher

(For editing the Fantasy Masterworks series, Gollancz)

Tom Shippey

Honored for : J. R. R. Tolkien: Author of the Century

Gordon Van Gelder

(For editing (St. Martin's and F&SF))

Jim Turner

(For Golden Gryphon Press)

John Grant, John Clute

Honored for : The Encyclopedia of Fantasy

Michael J. Weldon

Honored for : The Psychotronic Video Guide

Richard Evans

(for contributions to the genre)

Ellen Datlow

(for editing)


(for publishing)

Jeanne Cavelos

(for Dell/Abyss)

Arnie Fenner

(for book design)

Mark V. Ziesing

(for Ziesing Books)

Robert Weinberg

Honored for : A Biographical Dictionary of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists

Terri Windling

(for editing)

David G. Hartwell

(for Arbor House/Tor anthologies)

Jane Yolen

Honored for : Favorite Folktales From Around the World

Pat LoBrutto

(for editing)

Chris Van Allsburg

Honored for : The Mysteries of Harris Burdick

Donald M. Grant

(for Donald M. Grant, Publisher)

Edward L. Ferman

(for F&SF)

Donald A. Wollheim

(for DAW Books)

Donald M. Grant

(for Donald M. Grant, Publisher)

Edward L. Ferman

(for F&SF)

Roy Torgeson, Shelley Torgeson

(for Alternate World Recordings)

Donald M. Grant

(for Donald M. Grant, Publisher)