Awards & Winners

Frank Macfarlane Burnet

Date of Birth 03-September-1899
Place of Birth Traralgon
(Australia, Victoria)
Nationality Australia
Also know as Mac Burnet, Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet, Macfarlane, F. M. Burnet
Profession Virologist
Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet, OM AK KBE FRS FAA FRSNZ, usually known as Macfarlane or Mac Burnet, was an Australian virologist best known for his contributions to immunology. He won the Nobel Prize in 1960 for predicting acquired immune tolerance and was best known for developing the theory of clonal selection. Burnet received his Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of Melbourne in 1924, and his PhD from the University of London in 1928. He went on to conduct pioneering research in microbiology and immunology at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne, and served as director of the Institute from 1944 to 1965. From 1965 until his retirement in 1978, Burnet worked at the University of Melbourne. Throughout his career he played an active role in the development of public policy for the medical sciences in Australia and was a founding member of the Australian Academy of Science, and served as its president from 1965 to 1969. Burnet's major achievements in microbiology included discovering the causative agents of Q-fever and psittacosis; developing assays for the isolation, culture and detection of influenza virus; describing the recombination of influenza strains; demonstrating that the myxomatosis virus does not cause disease in humans. Modern methods for producing influenza vaccines are still based on Burnet's work improving virus growing processes in hen's eggs.

Awards by Frank Macfarlane Burnet

Check all the awards nominated and won by Frank Macfarlane Burnet.


Copley Medal
(In recognition of his contribution to animal virology with special emphasis on the pox and myxomatosis viruses and their relationship with the host in causing disease.)


Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
(for discovery of acquired immunological tolerance)


Copley Medal
(In recognition of his distinguished contributions to knowledge of viruses and of immunology.)


Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research
(For fundamentally modifying our knowledge of viruses and the inheritance of characteristics by viruses.)