Awards & Winners

Jacques Rivette

Date of Birth 01-March-1928
Place of Birth Rouen
(Upper Normandy, Seine-Maritime, France)
Nationality France
Also know as J. Rivette, Rivette, Pierre Louis Rivette, Pierre Louis Rivette, J. Rivette, Rivette, Pierre Louis Rivette, J. Rivette, Rivette
Profession Film director, Screenwriter, Film critic, Actor, Cinematographer
Jacques Rivette is a French film director, screenwriter and film critic. His best-known films include Celine and Julie Go Boating, La Belle Noiseuse and the rare thirteen-hour Out 1. He was a member of the French New Wave, a group that included François Truffaut, Jean-Luc Godard, Éric Rohmer and Claude Chabrol, who all began their careers as film critics at Cahiers du Cinéma in the 1950s and gained international recognition as film directors in the 1960s. As a film critic, he expressed his admiration for popular American cinema, especially genre directors such as Robert Aldrich, Otto Preminger, Alfred Hitchcock and Frank Tashlin. As a film director, he is known for using extended running times and loose narratives to explore the symbiosis and clash between reality and imagination. His films often combine the paranoid and conspiratorial crime stories of films by Louis Feuillade and Fritz Lang with the more carefree characters of the films of Jean Renoir and Howard Hawks. Film critic Raphaël Bassan has said that Rivette is "the only filmmaker of the ex-New Wave—along with Godard—who keeps making truly personal work on the level of film, while his colleagues from the early days have long rejoined the ranks of the qualité française [mainstream French films]" François Truffaut said that the French New Wave happened because of Rivette, and Marc Chevrie has called Rivette "vaguely legendary but largely unknown."

Awards by Jacques Rivette

Check all the awards nominated and won by Jacques Rivette.


Nominations 1992 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
César Award for Best Director La Belle Noiseuse
César Award for Best Film La Belle Noiseuse


Los Angeles Film Critics Association Award for Best Foreign Language Film
Honored for : La Belle Noiseuse
(France | Switzerland)


Sutherland Trophy
Honored for : L'amour fou


Sutherland Trophy
Honored for : Paris Belongs to Us