Awards & Winners

John Banville

Date of Birth 08-December-1945
Place of Birth Wexford
(Republic of Ireland, County Wexford)
Nationality Republic of Ireland
Also know as Benjamin Black, William John Banville
Profession Novelist, Journalist, Playwright, Author, Writer, Screenwriter
William John Banville, who writes as John Banville and sometimes as Benjamin Black, is an Irish novelist, adapter of dramas, and screenwriter. Recognised for his precise, cold, forensic prose style, Nabokovian inventiveness, and for the dark humour of his generally arch narrators, Banville is considered to be "one of the most imaginative literary novelists writing in the English language today." He has been described as "the heir to Proust, via Nabokov." Banville has received numerous awards in his career. His novel The Book of Evidence was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the Guinness Peat Aviation award in 1989. His fourteenth novel, The Sea, won the Booker Prize in 2005. In 2011, Banville was awarded the Franz Kafka Prize, while 2013 brought both the Irish PEN Award and the Austrian State Prize for European Literature. He is considered a contender for the Nobel Prize in Literature. Banville's stated ambition is to give his prose "the kind of denseness and thickness that poetry has". From 2006 to 2013, he has published seven crime novels as Benjamin Black, six featuring an Irish pathologist based in Dublin. Another will be published in 2014.

Awards by John Banville

Check all the awards nominated and won by John Banville.


Prince of Asturias Award for Literature
(John Banville, who won the Booker Prize in 2005 for his novel The Sea, has won the prestigious Prince of Asturias award for literature)


Nominations 2012 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Neustadt International Prize for Literature


Nominations 2011 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Satellite Award for Best Adapted Screenplay Albert Nobbs
Roadside Attractions


Nominations 2008 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Edgar Award for Best Novel Christine Falls
Henry Holt and Company


Nominations 2007 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Macavity Awards for Best Mystery Novel Christine Falls
Man Booker International Prize


Man Booker Prize
Honored for : The Sea

Nominations 2005 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Man Booker Prize The Sea


Nominations 1996 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Ghosts


Nominations 1989 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Man Booker Prize The Book of Evidence


Guardian Fiction Prize
Honored for : Kepler

Nominations 1981 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Guardian Fiction Prize Kepler