Awards & Winners

Ada Yonath

Ada E. Yonath is an Israeli crystallographer best known for her pioneering work on the structure of the ribosome. She is the current director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science. In 2009, she received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitz for her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome, becoming the first Israeli woman to win the Nobel Prize out of ten Israeli Nobel laureates, the first woman from the Middle East to win a Nobel prize in the sciences, and the first woman in 45 years to win the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. However, she said herself that there was nothing special about a woman winning the Prize.

Awards by Ada Yonath

Check all the awards nominated and won by Ada Yonath.


Nobel Prize in Chemistry
(for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome)


L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science
Albert Einstein World Award of Science
(For her pioneering contributions to protein biosynthesis in the field of ribosomal crystallography and her introduction of innovative techniques in cryo-bio crystallography.)


Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize
(For their achievements respecting structure and function of Ribosomes.)


Wolf Prize in Chemistry
(For ingenious structural discoveries of the ribosomal machinery of peptide-bond formation and the light-driven primary processes in photosynthesis.)