Awards & Winners

Charles L. Kane

Charles L. Kane is a theoretical condensed matter physicist and the Class of 1965 Endowed Term Chair Professor of Physics at the University of Pennsylvania. He completed a B.S. in physics at the University of Chicago in 1985 and his Ph.D. at Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1989. Prior to joining the faculty at the University of Pennsylvania he was a postdoctoral associate at IBM's T. J. Watson Research Center. Kane is notable for theoretically predicting the quantum spin Hall effect and what would later be known as topological insulators. He received the 2012 Dirac Prize, along with Shoucheng Zhang and Duncan Haldane, for their groundbreaking work on two- and three-dimensional topological insulators. In the same year he was also chosen for the inaugural class of Mathematics and the Physical Sciences Simons Investigators. He also shared one of the 2013 Physics Frontiers prizes with Laurens Molenkamp and Shoucheng Zhang for their work on topological insulators.

Awards by Charles L. Kane

Check all the awards nominated and won by Charles L. Kane.


Physics Frontiers Prize
(For the theoretical prediction and experimental discovery of topological insulators.)