Awards & Winners

Francine Prose

Date of Birth 01-April-1947
Place of Birth Brooklyn
(United States of America, New York City, New York, New York-White Plains-Wayne, NY-NJ Metropolitan Division)
Nationality United States of America
Profession Writer, Novelist, Author
Francine Prose is an American writer. She is a Visiting Professor of Literature at Bard College. Prose graduated from Radcliffe College in 1968. She received the PEN Translation Prize in 1988 and received a Guggenheim fellowship in 1991. Prose's novel, The Glorious Ones, has been adapted into a musical with the same title by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty. It ran at the Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater at Lincoln Center in New York City in the fall of 2007. In March 2007, Prose was chosen to succeed American writer Ron Chernow beginning in April to serve a one-year term as president of PEN American Center, a New York City-based literary society of writers, editors and translators that works to advance literature, defend free expression, and foster international literary fellowship. In March 2008, Prose ran unopposed for a second one-year term as PEN American Center president. That same month, London artist Sebastian Horsley had been denied entry into the United States and PEN president Prose subsequently invited Horsley to speak at PENs annual festival of international literature in New York at the end of April 2008. Prose was succeeded by contemporary philosophy and novelist Kwame Anthony Appiah as president of PEN in April 2009.

Awards by Francine Prose

Check all the awards nominated and won by Francine Prose.


James Beard MFK Fisher Distinguished Writing Award
Honored for : Faith and Bacon

Nominations 2010 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
James Beard MFK Fisher Distinguished Writing Award Faith and Bacon


Nominations 2008 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
James Beard MFK Fisher Distinguished Writing Award Religion Found


Nominations 2000 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
National Book Award for Fiction Blue Angel: A Novel


National Jewish Book Award for Fiction
Honored for : Judah the Pious