Awards & Winners

Gollapudi Maruti Rao

Date of Birth 14-April-1939
Place of Birth Vizianagaram
(India, Andhra Pradesh, Vizianagaram district)
Nationality India
Also know as Maruthirao Gollapudi, मारुतीराव गोल्लापुडी, Gollapudi Maruthi Rao, गोलापुडी मारुति राओ
Profession Actor, Journalist, Screenwriter, Television Director, Writer, Film Editor, Film Director
Gollapudi Maruti Rao is an Indian film actor, theatre actor, screenwriter, dramatist, playwright, and dialogue writer known for his works in Telugu Cinema, Theatre arts and Telugu Literature. He has acted in over 230 Telugu films. His noted literary works and plays, like Rendu Rellu Aaru, Patita, Karuninchani Devatalu, Mahanatudu, Kaalam Venakku Tirigindi, Aasayaalaku Sankellu, have won numerous State Awards. He was a member of the Script Scrutiny Committee of National Film Development Corporation and served as a Jury Member at International Film Festival of India for Indian Panorama section in 1996. He is known for scripting landmark films like Doctor Chakravarthy, Tharangini, Samsaram Chadharangam, Kallu etc. He has garnered six Andhra Pradesh State Nandi Awards. In 1997, He has established the Gollapudi Srinivas Memorial Foundation, which presents the Gollapudi National Award, for the best first film of a director in Indian cinema. Rao was also known for his works in All India Radio and Journalism, for over two decades. His play was included in the Master of Arts curriculum of Osmania University. This work was translated into all Indian languages by the National Book Trust, under the Aadaan Pradaan programme. The work was remade into a Telugu film in 1988 which won the Nandi Award for the Best Story in 1989. His 1975 play Kallu, was also remade into a Telugu film Kallu, which has also garnered Nandi Award for Best Feature Film. His play Oka Chettu – Rende Puvvulu was purchased by the Song and Drama Division, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting for popular exhibition.

Awards by Gollapudi Maruti Rao

Check all the awards nominated and won by Gollapudi Maruti Rao.


Nandi Award for Best Screenplay Writer
Honored for : Prema Pustagam


Nandi Award for Best Dialogue Writer
Honored for : Mastari Kapuram