Awards & Winners

Leo Esaki

Date of Birth 12-March-1925
Place of Birth Osaka
(Japan, Osaka Prefecture)
Nationality Japan
Also know as Leona Esaki
Profession Physicist
Reona Esaki, also known as Leo Esaki, is a Japanese physicist who shared the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1973 with Ivar Giaever and Brian David Josephson for his discovery of the phenomenon of electron tunneling. He is known for his invention of the Esaki diode, which exploited that phenomenon. This research was done when he was with Tokyo Tsushin Kogyo. He has also contributed in being a pioneer of the semiconductor superlattice while he was with IBM.

Awards by Leo Esaki

Check all the awards nominated and won by Leo Esaki.


IEEE Medal of Honor
(for contributions to and leadership in tunneling, semiconductor superlattices, and quantum wells)


Nobel Prize in Physics
(for their experimental discoveries regarding tunneling phenomena in semiconductors and superconductors, respectively)