Awards & Winners

Norman Foster Ramsey, Jr.

Date of Birth 27-August-1915
Place of Birth Washington, D.C.
(United States of America, United States, with Territories, Contiguous United States, Area code 202)
Nationality United States of America
Also know as Norman Ramsey
Profession Physicist
Norman Foster Ramsey, Jr. was an American physicist who was awarded the 1989 Nobel Prize in Physics, together with Hans G. Dehmelt from University of Washington, for the invention of the separated oscillatory field method, which had important applications in the construction of atomic clocks. A physics professor at Harvard University for most of his career, Ramsey also held several posts with such government and international agencies as NATO and the United States Atomic Energy Commission. Among his other accomplishments are helping to found the United States Department of Energy's Brookhaven National Laboratory and Fermilab.

Awards by Norman Foster Ramsey, Jr.

Check all the awards nominated and won by Norman Foster Ramsey, Jr..


Nobel Prize in Physics
(for the invention of the separated oscillatory fields method and its use in the hydrogen maser and other atomic clocks)


National Medal of Science for Physical Science
(For his seminal investigations in broad areas of atomic, molecular, and nuclear physics, and for his dedicated service to the Nation and to the scientific community.)


Rumford Prize
(For contributions to atomic spectroscopy.)


IEEE Medal of Honor
(for fundamental contributions to very high accuracy time and frequency standards exemplified by the cesium atomic clock and hydrogen maser oscillator)