Awards & Winners

Ohio State Buckeyes football

The Ohio State Buckeyes football team is a collegiate football team that competes as part of the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football Bowl Subdivision, representing The Ohio State University in the Leaders Division of the Big Ten Conference. Ohio State has played their home games at Ohio Stadium in Columbus, Ohio since 1922. The Buckeyes have claimed seven national championships along with 36 conference championships and ten undefeated seasons. Football was introduced to the university by George Cole and Alexander S. Lilley in 1890. Ohio State was a football independent from 1890 to 1901 before joining the Ohio Athletic Conference as a charter member in 1902. The Buckeyes won two conference championships while members of the OAC and in 1912 became members of the Big Ten Conference. Ohio State won their first national championship in 1942 under head coach Paul Brown. Following World War II, Ohio State saw sparse success on the football field with three separate coaches and in 1951 hired Woody Hayes to coach the team. Under Hayes, Ohio State won 13 Big Ten championships and five national championships, and had four Rose Bowl wins in eight appearances. Following Hayes' dismissal in 1978, Earle Bruce and later John Cooper coached the team to seven conference championships.

Awards by Ohio State Buckeyes football

Check all the awards nominated and won by Ohio State Buckeyes football.


Best Game ESPY Award
(2003 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl)

Nominations 2003 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Best Game ESPY Award
2003 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl
Outstanding Team ESPY Award


Best Game ESPY Award
(Ohio State edges Arizona State in the Rose Bowl)