Awards & Winners

Rachel Carson

Date of Birth 27-May-1907
Place of Birth Springdale
(Allegheny County, Pennsylvania)
Nationality United States of America
Also know as Rachel L. Carson, Rachel Louise Carson
Profession Zoologist, Writer, Marine biologist, Conservationist, Biologist, Author, Essayist
Rachel Louise Carson was an American marine biologist and conservationist whose book Silent Spring and other writings are credited with advancing the global environmental movement. Carson began her career as an aquatic biologist in the U.S. Bureau of Fisheries, and became a full-time nature writer in the 1950s. Her widely praised 1951 bestseller The Sea Around Us won her a U.S. National Book Award, recognition as a gifted writer, and financial security. Her next book, The Edge of the Sea, and the reissued version of her first book, Under the Sea Wind, were also bestsellers. This sea trilogy explores the whole of ocean life from the shores to the depths. Late in the 1950s, Carson turned her attention to conservation, especially environmental problems that she believed were caused by synthetic pesticides. The result was Silent Spring, which brought environmental concerns to an unprecedented share of the American people. Although Silent Spring was met with fierce opposition by chemical companies, it spurred a reversal in national pesticide policy, which led to a nationwide ban on DDT and other pesticides, and it inspired a grassroots environmental movement that led to the creation of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Carson was posthumously awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by Jimmy Carter.

Awards by Rachel Carson

Check all the awards nominated and won by Rachel Carson.


Nominations 1963 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
National Book Award for Nonfiction Silent Spring


Nominations 1956 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
National Book Award for Nonfiction The Edge of the Sea


National Book Award for Nonfiction
Honored for : The Sea Around Us

Nominations 1952 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
National Book Award for Nonfiction The Sea Around Us