Awards & Winners

Ronald Chetwynd-Hayes

Date of Birth 30-May-1919
Place of Birth Isleworth
(London Borough of Hounslow)
Nationality United Kingdom
Also know as R. Chetwynd-Hayes, Ronald Henry Glynn Chetwynd-Hayes
Ronald Chetwynd-Hayes was an author, best known for his ghost stories. His first published work was the science fiction novel The Man From The Bomb in 1959. He went on to publish many collections and ten other novels including The Grange, The Haunted Grange, And Love Survived and The Curse of the Snake God. He also edited over 20 anthologies. Several of his short works were adapted into anthology style movies in the United Kingdom, including The Monster Club and From Beyond the Grave. Chetwynd-Hayes' book The Monster Club contains references to a film-maker called Vinke Rocnnor, an anagram of Kevin Connor, the director of From Beyond the Grave. He won the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement for 1988, and the British Fantasy Society Special Award in 1989. Chetwynd-Hayes died from bronchial pneumonia on 20 March 2001. 'Chetwynd' is a Hayes family name originating with Ronald's 4 x great grandfather, John Hayes, when he married Ann; daughter of Francis and Ann Chetwin, at Wolverhampton on 13 August, 1758. Chetwynd-Hayes was also related to Michael Peter Hayes, better known as Mickie Most, through shared ancestors James Thomas Hayes [ born 1841 in Whitechapel, London ] and his wife, Elizabeth Penn. [source Family pedigree Alan C Hardcastle ].

Awards by Ronald Chetwynd-Hayes

Check all the awards nominated and won by Ronald Chetwynd-Hayes.