Awards & Winners

Wolfhart Zimmermann

Date of Birth 17-February-1928
Place of Birth Freiburg im Breisgau
(Germany, Baden-Württemberg, Freiburg)
Wolfhart Zimmermann is a German theoretical physicist. Zimmermann attained a doctorate in 1950 at Freiburg im Breisgau in topology. In the 1950s he was at Göttingen one of the pioneers of the mathematical quantum field theory; along with Kurt Symanzik and Harry Lehmann he developed the LSZ theory. From 1962 to 1974 he was a professor at the New York University. From 1974 to 1996 he was a director at the Max Planck Institute for physics in Munich, where he is "Director Emeritus". Besides, since 1977 he was honorary professor at the TU Munich. He was on year-long sabbatical stays at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences of New York University, at the University of Chicago and at IHES in Paris. Beside his work on the LSZ formalism he is also known for the development of Bogolyubov - Parasiuk renormalization schema. Along with Kenneth G. Wilson he was one of the pioneers in applications of operator product expansion in quantum field theory. With Reinhard Oehme of the Enrico Fermi Institute in Chicago, he worked on the reduction of coupling parameters with group renormalization methods and introduced superconvergence relations for Propagatoren into Yang–Mills theory, to establish connections between the borders of high energy and low energy.

Awards by Wolfhart Zimmermann

Check all the awards nominated and won by Wolfhart Zimmermann.