Awards & Winners

1957 Edgar Award

Check winners and nominations of 1957 Edgar Award. Check awards winners of 1957 Edgar Awards. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

1957 Edgar Awards

Edgar Award for Best Novel

Charlotte Armstrong

Honored for : A Dram of Poison

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Charlotte Armstrong A Dram of Poison
Margot Bennett The Man Who Didn't Fly
Edgar Award for Best First Novel by an American Author

Donald McNutt Douglass

Honored for : Rebecca's Pride
Edgar Award for Best Short Story

Stanley Ellin

Honored for : The Blessington Method
(Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine Volume: June '56)

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Stanley Ellin The Blessington Method
David Alexander The Gentlest of the Brothers
Evan Hunter The Last Spin
Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime

Charles Samuels, Louise Samuels

Honored for : Night Fell on Georgia

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Charles Samuels Night Fell on Georgia
Louise Samuels Night Fell on Georgia
Hugh Ross Williamson Historical Whodunits
William Bradford Huie Ruby McCollum
Raven Award

Dorothy Kilgallen

(Reader of the Year)
Edgar Award for Outstanding Mystery Criticism
Edgar Award for Best Television Episode Teleplay

Sidney Carroll

Honored for : The Fine Art of Murder

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Sidney Carroll The Fine Art of Murder
Playhouse 90
Comment: awarded a Scroll for excellence of production and quality of its telecasts
Edgar's Book Jacket Award


Honored for : Inspector Maigret and the Burglar's Wife
Special Edgars Award

Meyer Levin

Honored for : Compulsion