Awards & Winners

1987 Edgar Award

Check winners and nominations of 1987 Edgar Award. Check awards winners of 1987 Edgar Awards. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

1987 Edgar Awards

Edgar Award for Best Novel

Ruth Rendell

Honored for : A Dark-Adapted Eye

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Ruth Rendell A Dark-Adapted Eye
P. D. James A Taste for Death
Joe Gores Come Morning
Brian Freemantle The Blind Run
Roger L. Simon The Straight Man
Edgar Grand Master Award
Edgar Award for Best Juvenile

Joan Lowery Nixon

Honored for : The Other Side of Dark

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Joan Lowery Nixon The Other Side of Dark
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro Floating illusions
Phyllis Reynolds Naylor The Bodies in the Bessledorf Hotel
Dorothy Haas The Secret Life of Dilly McBean
Jay Bennett The Skeleton Man
Edgar Award for Best First Novel by an American Author

Larry Beinhart

Honored for : No One Rides for Free

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Larry Beinhart No One Rides for Free
Mike Lupica Dead Air
Joseph Koenig Floater
Gary Devon Lost
Richard Hyer Riceburner
The Ellery Queen Award
Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original

Robert Wright Campbell

Honored for : The Junkyard Dog

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Robert Wright Campbell The Junkyard Dog
R.D. Brown Hazzard
Nick Christian Ronin
Kate Green Shattered Moon
Lilian Jackson Braun The Cat Who Saw Red
Edgar Award for Best Short Story

Robert Sampson

Honored for : Rain in Pinton County
(New Black Mask Volume: May '86)

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Robert Sampson Rain in Pinton County
New Black Mask Volume: May '86
Wayne D Dundee Body Count
Anthology: Mean Streets
Thomas Adcock Christmas Cop
EQMM Volume: November '86
Brendan DuBois Driven
EQMM Volume: November '86
Doug Allyn The Puddle Diver
AHMM Volume: October '86
Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime

Carlton Stowers

Honored for : Careless Whispers

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Carlton Stowers Careless Whispers
Johnny France Incident at Big Sky
Malcolm McConnell Incident at Big Sky
Alan Prendergast The Poison Tree: A True Story of Family Violence and Revenge
Daniel Keyes Unveiling Claudia
Nicholas Pileggi Wiseguy
Edgar Award for Best Critical/Biographical

Eric Ambler

Honored for : Here Lies

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Eric Ambler Here Lies
Marcia Muller 1001 Midnights: The Aficionado's Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction
Bill Pronzini 1001 Midnights: The Aficionado's Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction
Elaine Budd 13 Mistresses of Murder
Art Bourgeau Mystery Lover's Companion
Carol Billman The Secret of the Stratemeyer Syndicate
Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

Mary Kittredge

Honored for : Father to the Man
(Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, Volume: November '86)
Edgar Award for Best Television Episode Teleplay

David Jackson, Andrew Sipes

Honored for : The Cup
(Series: The Equalizer)

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
David Jackson The Cup
Series: The Equalizer
Andrew Sipes The Cup
Series: The Equalizer
Herman Miller Deirdre
Series: The New Mike Hammer
Dean Hargrove Diary of a Perfect Murder (1)","Diary of a Perfect Murder (2)
Series: Matlock
Lee Sheldon Wax Poetic
Series: Blacke's Magic
Edgar Award for Best Motion Picture Screenplay

E. Max Frye

Honored for : Something Wild

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
E. Max Frye Something Wild
Martin Stellman Defence of the Realm
Gregory Fleeman F/X
Robert T. Megginson F/X
Michael Mann Manhunter
Ron Clements The Great Mouse Detective
Vance Gerry The Great Mouse Detective
Steve Hulett The Great Mouse Detective
Burny Mattinson The Great Mouse Detective
David Michener The Great Mouse Detective
Bruce Morris The Great Mouse Detective
John Musker The Great Mouse Detective
Matthew O'Callaghan The Great Mouse Detective
Melvin Shaw The Great Mouse Detective
Peter Young The Great Mouse Detective
Andrew Birkin The Name of the Rose
GĂ©rard Brach The Name of the Rose
Howard Franklin The Name of the Rose
Alain Godard The Name of the Rose
Edgar Awards for Best Television Feature/Mini-Series Teleplay

Phil Penningroth

Honored for : When the Bough Breaks

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Phil Penningroth When the Bough Breaks
Paul King One Police Plaza
Anne Collins Perry Mason: The Case of the Shooting Star
Hesper Anderson The Deliberate Stranger
Chris Bryant Sword of Gideon