Awards & Winners

2008 Edgar Award

Check winners and nominations of 2008 Edgar Award. Check awards winners of 2008 Edgar Awards. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

2008 Edgar Awards

Edgar Grand Master Award
Edgar Award for Best Motion Picture Screenplay

Tony Gilroy

Honored for : Michael Clayton

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Steven Knight Eastern Promises
Tony Gilroy Michael Clayton
Joel Coen No Country for Old Men
Ethan Coen No Country for Old Men
Scott Frank The Lookout
James Vanderbilt Zodiac
Edgar Award for Best Novel

John Hart

Honored for : Down River
(St. Martin's Minotaur)

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Michael Chabon The Yiddish Policemen's Union
John Hart Down River
St. Martin's Minotaur
Ken Bruen Priest
St. Martin's Minotaur
John Banville Christine Falls
Henry Holt and Company
Reed Coleman Soul Patch
Bleak House Books
Edgar Award for Best First Novel by an American Author

Tana French

Honored for : In the Woods

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tana French In the Woods
Gordon Campbell Missing Witness
Craig McDonald Head Games
Christopher Goffard Snitch Jacket
Derek Nikitas Pyres
Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original

Megan Abbott

Honored for : Queenpin

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Megan Abbott Queenpin
Russell Hill Robbie's Wife
Kevin Wignall Who is Conrad Hirst?
Vicki Hendricks Cruel Poetry
David Corbett Blood of Paradise
Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime

Vincent Bugliosi

Honored for : Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Vincent Bugliosi Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy
Bruce Watson Sacco and Vanzetti: The Men, the Murders, and the Judgment of Mankind
Kevin Flynn Relentless Pursuit
Kerry Max Cook Chasing Justice: My Story of Freeing Myself After Two Decades on Death Row for a Crime I Didn't Commit
Stanley Alpert The Birthday Party
Edgar Award for Best Critical/Biographical

Daniel Stashower, Jon Lellenberg, Charles Foley

Honored for : Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jon Lellenberg Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters
Charles Foley Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters
Daniel Stashower Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters
Patrick Anderson The Triumph of the Thriller
Maurizio Ascari A Counter-History of Crime Fiction: Supernatural, Gothic, Sensational
Christiana Gregoriou Deviance in Contemporary Crime Fiction
Jean Gould O'Connell Chester Gould: A Daughter's Biography of the Creator of Dick Tracy
Edgar Award for Best Short Story

Susan Straight

Honored for : The Golden Gopher
(Anthology: Los Angeles Noir)

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Susan Straight The Golden Gopher
Anthology: Los Angeles Noir
Mark Ammons The Catch
Anthology: Still Waters
Daniel Woodrell Uncle
Anthology: A Hell of a Woman
Laura Lippman Hardly Knew Her
Anthology: Dead Man's Hand
Stuart M. Kaminsky Blue Note
Anthology: Chicago Blues
Edgar Award for Best Juvenile

Katherine Marsh

Honored for : The Night Tourist

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Pseudonymous Bosch The Name of this Book is Secret
Katherine Marsh The Night Tourist
Mary Downing Hahn Deep and Dark and Dangerous
Evelyn Coleman Shadows on Society Hill
Wendelin Van Draanen Sammy Keyes and the Wild Things
Edgar Award for Best Young Adult

Tedd Arnold

Honored for : Rat Life

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tedd Arnold Rat Life
Caroline B. Cooney Diamonds in the Shadow
M. Sindy Felin Touching Snow
S.A. Harazin Blood Brothers
Jeffry W. Johnston Fragments
Edgar Award for Best Play

Joseph Goodrich

Honored for : Panic

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Joseph Goodrich Panic
Stuart M. Kaminsky Books
David Foley If/Then
Edgar Award for Best Television Episode Teleplay

Matt Nix

Honored for : Burn Notice

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Matt Nix Burn Notice
Bryan Fuller Pie-lette
Warren Leight Senseless
Siobhan Byrne O'Connor Senseless
Julie Martin Senseless
Daniel Cerone It's Alive!
Declan Croghan Yahrzeit (1)
Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

Mark Ammons

Honored for : The Catch
Mary Higgins Clark Award

Sandi Ault

Honored for : Wild Indigo

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Sandi Ault Wild Indigo
Judith Kelman The First Stone
Barbara Seranella Deadman's Switch
Karen Harper Inferno
Sarah Andrews In Cold Pursuit
Raven Award
Raven Award