Awards & Winners

Independent Spirit Award for Best Supporting Male

Independent Spirit Awards

The Independent Spirit Award for Best Supporting Actor is one of the annual Independent Spirit Awards. Alan Arkin, Christopher Plummer, and Jared Leto are the only actors to have won both this award and the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor the same year.
Date Established : 1988

Check all the winners of Independent Spirit Award for Best Supporting Male presented under Independent Spirit Awards since 1988 .

Christopher Plummer

Honored for : Beginners

Nominations 2012 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Albert Brooks Drive
Role: Bernie Rose
John Hawkes Martha Marcy May Marlene
Christopher Plummer Beginners
Role: Hal
John C. Reilly Cedar Rapids
Corey Stoll Midnight in Paris

John Hawkes

Honored for : Winter\u2019s Bone

Nominations 2011 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Mark Ruffalo The Kids Are All Right
John Hawkes Winter\u2019s Bone
Samuel L. Jackson Mother and Child
Bill Murray Get Low
John Ortiz Jack Goes Boating

Woody Harrelson

Honored for : The Messenger

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Christopher Plummer The Last Station
Ray McKinnon That Evening Sun
Woody Harrelson The Messenger
Jemaine Clement Gentlemen Broncos
Christian McKay Me and Orson Welles

James Franco

Honored for : Milk

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
JimMyron Ross Ballast
Charlie McDermott Frozen River
James Franco Milk
Anthony Mackie The Hurt Locker
Haaz Sleiman The Visitor

Chiwetel Ejiofor

Honored for : Talk to Me

Nominations 2008 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Kene Holliday Great World of Sound
Marcus Carl Franklin I'm Not There
Steve Zahn Rescue Dawn
Chiwetel Ejiofor Talk to Me
Irrfan Khan The Namesake

Alan Arkin

Honored for : Little Miss Sunshine

Nominations 2007 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Channing Tatum A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints
Daniel Craig Infamous
Alan Arkin Little Miss Sunshine
Paul Dano Little Miss Sunshine
Raymond J. Barry Steel City

Matt Dillon

Honored for : Crash

Nominations 2006 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jeffrey Wright Broken Flowers
Matt Dillon Crash
Jesse Eisenberg The Squid and the Whale
Barry Pepper The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada
Firdous Bamji The War Within

Thomas Haden Church

Honored for : Sideways

Nominations 2005 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Roger Robinson Brother to Brother
Aidan Quinn Cavedweller
Peter Sarsgaard Kinsey
Jon Gries Napoleon Dynamite
Thomas Haden Church Sideways

Djimon Hounsou

Honored for : In America

Nominations 2004 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Judah Friedlander American Splendor
Djimon Hounsou In America
Alessandro Nivola Laurel Canyon
Peter Sarsgaard Shattered Glass
Troy Garity Soldier's Girl

Dennis Quaid

Honored for : Far from Heaven

Nominations 2003 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Dennis Quaid Far from Heaven
Peter Weller Ivans Xtc
Ray Liotta Narc
John C. Reilly The Good Girl
Alan Arkin Thirteen Conversations About One Thing

Steve Buscemi

Honored for : Ghost World

Nominations 2002 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Steve Buscemi Ghost World
Garrett Morris Jackpot
Billy Kay L.I.E.
John C. Reilly The Anniversary Party
Don Cheadle Things Behind the Sun

Willem Dafoe

Honored for : Shadow of the Vampire

Nominations 2001 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Willem Dafoe Shadow of the Vampire
Gary Oldman The Contender
Giovanni Ribisi The Gift
Billy Dee Williams The Visit
Cole Hauser Tigerland

Steve Zahn

Honored for : Happy, Texas

Nominations 2000 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Charles S. Dutton Cookie's Fortune
Steve Zahn Happy, Texas
Clark Gregg The Adventures of Sebastian Cole
Terrence Howard The Best Man
Luis Guzmán The Limey

Bill Murray

Honored for : Rushmore

Nominations 1999 »

Nominee Nominated Work
James Coburn Affliction
Charles S. Dutton Blind Faith
Philip Seymour Hoffman Happiness
Bill Murray Rushmore
Gary Farmer Smoke Signals

Jason Lee

Honored for : Chasing Amy

Nominations 1998 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jason Lee Chasing Amy
Samuel L. Jackson Hard Eight
Efrain Figueroa Star Maps
Ajay Naidu SubUrbia
Roy Scheider The Myth of Fingerprints

Benicio del Toro

Honored for : Basquiat

Nominations 1997 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Benicio del Toro Basquiat
Gary Farmer Dead Man
Richard Jenkins Flirting with Disaster
Kevin Corrigan Walking and Talking
Matthew Faber Welcome to the Dollhouse

Benicio del Toro

Honored for : The Usual Suspects

Nominations 1996 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Max Perlich Georgia
James LeGros Living in Oblivion
Harold Perrineau Jr. Smoke
David Morse The Crossing Guard
Benicio del Toro The Usual Suspects

Chazz Palminteri

Honored for : Bullets Over Broadway

Nominations 1995 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Chazz Palminteri Bullets Over Broadway
Nicholas Turturro Federal Hill
Giancarlo Esposito Fresh
Eric Stoltz Pulp Fiction
Larry Pine Vanya on 42nd Street

Christopher Lloyd

Honored for : Twenty Bucks

Nominations 1994 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Edward Furlong American Heart
Tate Donovan Inside Monkey Zetterland
Todd Field Ruby in Paradise
David Chung The Ballad of Little Jo
Christopher Lloyd Twenty Bucks

Steve Buscemi

Honored for : Reservoir Dogs

Nominations 1993 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jeff Goldblum Deep Cover
David Strathairn Passion Fish
Steve Buscemi Reservoir Dogs
Wesley Snipes The Waterdance
William Forsythe The Waterdance

David Strathairn

Honored for : City of Hope

Nominations 1992 »

Nominee Nominated Work
David Strathairn City of Hope
William H. Macy Homicide
Glenn Plummer Pastime
John Malkovich Queens Logic
George T. Odom Straight Out of Brooklyn

Bruce Davison

Honored for : Longtime Companion

Nominations 1991 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tom Towles Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer
Robin Harris House Party
Bruce Davison Longtime Companion
Ben Lang The Plot Against Harry
Willem Dafoe Wild at Heart

Max Perlich

Honored for : Drugstore Cowboy

Nominations 1990 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Max Perlich Drugstore Cowboy
Screamin' Jay Hawkins Mystery Train
Steve Buscemi Mystery Train
Gary Farmer Powwow Highway
Scott Coffey Shag

Lou Diamond Phillips

Honored for : Stand and Deliver

Nominations 1989 »

Nominee Nominated Work
John Turturro Five Corners
Divine Hairspray
Ernest Borgnine Spike of Bensonhurst
Lou Diamond Phillips Stand and Deliver
John Lone The Moderns

Morgan Freeman

Honored for : Street Smart

Nominations 1988 »

Nominee Nominated Work
James Earl Jones Matewan
Morgan Freeman Street Smart
Vincent Price The Whales of August
Wings Hauser Tough Guys Don't Dance