Awards & Winners

1987 Lasker Award

Check winners and nominations of 1987 Lasker Award. Check awards winners of 1987 Lasker Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

Leroy Hood

(For his prolific and imaginative studies of somatic recombination in the immune system, detailing in molecular terms the genetics of antibody diversity.)
Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

Philip Leder

(For his elegant genetic studies, particularly in carcinogenesis, and for developing transgenic laboratory animals for the study of cancer and other diseases.)
Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

Susumu Tonegawa

(For brilliantly demonstrating that the DNA responsible for antibody production is routinely reshuffled to create new genes during the lifetime of an individual.)
Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

Mogens Schou

(For his landmark systematic clinical trials of lithium as therapy and prophylaxis for manic depressive illness, which initiated a revolution in the treatment of mental disease.)
Mary Woodard Lasker Award for Public Service