Awards & Winners

1996 Lasker Award

Check winners and nominations of 1996 Lasker Award. Check awards winners of 1996 Lasker Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

Ferid Murad

(For ingenious elucidation of the cyclic GMP signaling pathway of nitric oxide and for essential discoveries that led to establishing the link between endothelium-derived relaxing factor and nitric oxide.)
Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

Robert F. Furchgott

(For the landmark discovery of endothelium-derived relaxing factor (EDRF), now known to be nitric oxide, and other research findings that have profound implications for the treatment of cardiovascular conditions and other diseases.)
Albert Lasker Special Achievement Award

Paul Zamecnik

(For brilliant and original science that revolutionized biochemistry and spawned new avenues of scientific inquiry.)
Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

Porter Warren Anderson, Jr., John B. Robbins, David Smith, Rachel Schneerson

(For groundbreaking work and bold, visionary and imaginative leadership in the development and commercialization of the Hemophilus influenzae type b vaccine and bringing the vaccine to market, leading to the eradication of Hemophilus influenzae type b, typhoid, and pneumococcus.)