Awards & Winners

2009 Lasker Award

Check winners and nominations of 2009 Lasker Award. Check awards winners of 2009 Lasker Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

Charles Sawyers, Nicholas Lydon, Brian Druker

(For the development of molecularly-targeted treatments for chronic myeloid leukemia, converting a fatal cancer into a manageable chronic condition.)
Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

John Gurdon, Shinya Yamanaka

(For the discoveries concerning nuclear reprogramming, the process that instructs specialized adult cells to form early stem cells\u2014creating the potential to become any type of mature cell for experimental or therapeutic purposes.)
Mary Woodard Lasker Award for Public Service

Michael Bloomberg

(For employing sound science in political decision making; setting a world standard for the public's health as an impetus for government action; leading the way to reduce the scourge of tobacco use; and advancing public health through enlightened philanthropy.)
Albert Lasker Special Achievement Award