Awards & Winners

1939 Nobel Prize

Check winners and nominations of 1939 Nobel Prize. Check awards winners of 1939 Nobel Prize Ceremony. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

1939 Nobel Prize Ceremony

Nobel Prize in Literature

Frans Eemil Sillanpää

(for his deep understanding of his country's peasantry and the exquisite art with which he has portrayed their way of life and their relationship with Nature.)

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Aldous Huxley
Antonio Correia de Oliveira
Bansadhar Majumdar
Benedetto Croce
Egidio Poblete Escudero
Eugène Baie
Flavio de Carvalho
Frans Eemil Sillanpää
Hans Fallada
Henriette Charasson
Henriette Roland Holst
Henry Handel Richardson
Herbert Samuel, 1st Viscount Samuel
Hermann Hesse
Hu Shih
Hugh Walpole
Jarl Hemmer
Johan Falkberget
Johan Huizinga
Johannes Vilhelm Jensen
Josip Kosor
Maila Talvio
Maria D?browska
Maria Madalena de Martel Patrício
Mark Aldanov
Olav Duun
Paul Valéry
Ramón Menéndez Pidal
René Béhaine
Sally Salminen
Sanjib Chaudhuri
Stijn Streuvels
Vilhelm Peter Grønbech
Nobel Prize in Physics

Ernest Lawrence

(for the invention and development of the cyclotron and for results obtained with it, especially with regard to artificial radioactive elements.)
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Gerhard Domagk

(for the discovery of the antibacterial effects of prontosil.)
Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Adolf Butenandt

(for his work on sex hormones.)
Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Leopold Ruži?ka

(for his work on polymethylenes and higher terpenes.)
Nobel Peace Prize