Awards & Winners

1990 Wolf Prize

Check winners and nominations of 1990 Wolf Prize. Check awards winners of 1990 Wolf Prize. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Wolf Prize in Mathematics

Ennio de Giorgi

(For his innovating ideas and fundamental achievements s in partial differential equations and calculus of variations.)
Wolf Prize in Mathematics

Ilya Piatetski-Shapiro

(For his fundamental contributions in the fields of homogeneous complex domains, discrete groups, representation theory and automorphic forms.)
Wolf Prize in Agriculture

Jozef Schell

(For his pioneering work in genetic transformation of plants, thereby opening up new horizons in basic plant science and breeding.)
Wolf Prize in Medicine

Maclyn McCarty

(For his part in the demonstration that the transforming factor in bacteria is due to deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) and the concomitant discovery that the genetic material is composed of DNA.)
Wolf Prize in Physics

Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, David J. Thouless

(For a wide variety of pioneering contributions to our understanding of the organization of complex condensed matter systems, de Gennes especially for his work on macromolecular matter and liquid crystals and Thouless for his on disordered and low-dimensional systems.)
Wolf Prize in Arts

Anselm Kiefer

(Painting - for his epic and physically compelling paintings, in which he creates a continuum, linking current life with history and mythology.)
Wolf Prize in Chemistry