Awards & Winners

1996 Wolf Prize

Check winners and nominations of 1996 Wolf Prize. Check awards winners of 1996 Wolf Prize. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Wolf Prize in Mathematics

Joseph Keller

(For his profound and innovative contributions, in particular to electromagnetic, optical, acoustic wave propagation and to fluid, solid, quantum and statistical mechanics.)
Wolf Prize in Mathematics

Yakov G. Sinai

(For his fundamental contributions to mathematically rigorous methods in statistical mechanics and the ergodic theory of dynamical systems and their applications in physics.)
Wolf Prize in Agriculture

Neal L. First

(For his pioneering research in the reproductive biology of livestock.)
Wolf Prize in Medicine

Stanley B. Prusiner

(For discovering prions, new class of pathogens that cause important neurodegenerative disease by inducing changes in protein structute.)
Wolf Prize in Arts

Zubin Mehta

(Music - who is considered one of the world's foremost conductors of our time. His humanitarian contributions to bring people together through the universal language of music and his constant encouragement of young artists, are unforgettable.)
Wolf Prize in Arts

György Ligeti

(Music - one of the most outstanding composers of the second half of the 20th century. While based on musical tradition, he has brought new ways, original and innovative, and created models to inspire younger generations of composers.)
Wolf Prize in Chemistry
Wolf Prize in Physics