Awards & Winners

2011 Wolf Prize

Check winners and nominations of 2011 Wolf Prize. Check awards winners of 2011 Wolf Prize. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Wolf Prize in Medicine

Shinya Yamanaka, Rudolf Jaenisch

(For the generation of induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS cells) from skin cells (SY) and demonstration that iPS cells can be used to cure genetic disease in a mammal, thus establishing their therapeutic potential (RJ).)
Wolf Prize in Chemistry

Stuart A. Rice, Ching W. Tang, Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

(For the deep creative contributions to the chemical sciences in the field of synthesis, properties and an understanding of organic materials.)
Wolf Prize in Arts

Rosemarie Trockel

(Painting - for her multidimensional art practice, which provides a powerful model that engages the mainstream obliquely and critically.)
Wolf Prize in Physics

Maximilian Haider, Harald Rose, Knut Urban

(For their development of aberration-corrected electron microscopy, allowing the observation of individual atoms with picometer precision, thus revolutionizing materials science.)
Wolf Prize in Mathematics
Wolf Prize in Agriculture

Harris A. Lewin

(For highly significant discoveries, that contribute to both fundamental and practical aspects of animal agriculture.)
Wolf Prize in Agriculture

R. James Cook

(For seminal discoveries in plant pathology and soil microbiology that impact crop productivity and disease management.)