Awards & Winners

Best Comeback Athlete ESPY Award

ESPY Award

The Best Comeback Athlete ESPY Award has been presented annually since 1993 to the sportsperson, irrespective of gender, contesting a team sport professionally under the auspices of one of the four North American leagues or an individual sport on either an amateur or professional basis primarily in the United States or internationally under the auspices of an sport governing body adjudged to have made the most significant, profound, or impressive comeback from serious illness, injury, personal or familial hardship, retirement, or significant loss of form. Between 1993 and 2004, the award voting panel comprised variously fans; sportswriters and broadcasters, sports executives, and retired sportspersons, termed collectively experts; and ESPN personalities, but balloting thereafter has been exclusively by fans over the Internet from amongst choices selected by the ESPN Select Nominating Committee. Through the 2001 iteration of the ESPY Awards, ceremonies were conducted in February of each year to honor achievements over the previous calendar year; awards presented thereafter are conferred in June and reflect performance from the June previous.
Date Established : 1993

Check all the winners of Best Comeback Athlete ESPY Award presented under ESPY Award since 1993 .

Nominations 2014 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Josh Beckett
Sidney Crosby
Dominic Moore
Russell Westbrook

Nominations 2013 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Adrian Peterson
Peyton Manning
Buster Posey
Mariano Rivera

Nominations 2012 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Matthew Stafford
Sidney Crosby
Maria Sharapova
Johan Santana

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Kim Clijsters

Nominations 2006 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tedy Bruschi
James Blake
Ronny Turiaf

Nominations 2005 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Mark Fields
Kayla Burt
Rulon Gardner
Jordan Sigalet

Nominations 2004 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Bethany Hamilton
John Daly
Neil Parry
Jason White

Nominations 2003 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tommy Maddox
Robert Edwards
Hermann Maier

Nominations 2002 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jennifer Capriati
Peter Forsberg
Michael Jordan
Saku Koivu
Mario Lemieux

Nominations 2001 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Andrés Galarraga
Moisés Alou
Sean Elliott
Dara Torres

Nominations 2000 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Lance Armstrong
Jeff George
Tyrone Wheatley
John Jaha