Awards & Winners

1994 Hugo Awards

Check winners and nominations of 1994 Hugo Awards. Check awards winners of 1994 Hugo Awards Ceremony. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

1994 Hugo Awards Ceremony

Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation

Steven Spielberg, Michael Crichton, David Koepp

Honored for : Jurassic Park

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Steven Spielberg Jurassic Park
Michael Crichton Jurassic Park
David Koepp Jurassic Park
Henry Selick The Nightmare Before Christmas
Caroline Thompson The Nightmare Before Christmas
Michael McDowell The Nightmare Before Christmas
Tim Burton The Nightmare Before Christmas
Harold Ramis Groundhog Day
Danny Rubin Groundhog Day
Richard Compton Babylon 5: The Gathering
J. Michael Straczynski Babylon 5: The Gathering
Barry Sonnenfeld Addams Family Values
Paul Rudnick Addams Family Values
Charles Addams Addams Family Values
Hugo Award for Best Novel

Kim Stanley Robinson

Honored for : Green Mars

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Nancy Kress Beggars in Spain
David Brin Glory Season
Kim Stanley Robinson Green Mars
Greg Bear Moving Mars
William Gibson Virtual Light
Hugo Award for Best Related Work

John Clute, Peter Nicholls

Honored for : The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
John Clute The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
Peter Nicholls The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
Scott McCloud Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art
Theodore Cogswell PITFCS: Proceedings of the Institute for Twenty-First Century Studies
Robert Bloch Once Around the Bloch: An Unauthorized Autobiography
Michael Whelan The Art of Michael Whelan
Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
David Langford
Sharon N. Farber
Mike Glyer
Andrew Hooper
Evelyn C. Leeper
Hugo Award for Best Professional Artist

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Bob Eggleton
Thomas Canty
David A. Cherry
Don Maitz
Michael Whelan
Hugo Award for Best Fan Artist

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Brad W. Foster
Teddy Harvia
Linda Michaels
Peggy Ranson
William Rotsler
Stu Shiffman
Hugo Award for Best Professional Editor

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Ellen Datlow
Gardner Dozois
Mike Resnick
Stanley Schmidt
Hugo Award for Best Fanzine

Nicki Lynch, Richard Lynch

Honored for : Mimosa

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Nicki Lynch Mimosa
Richard Lynch Mimosa
David Langford Ansible
Mike Glyer File 770
George Laskowski Lan's Lantern
Leah Zeldes Smith STET
Dick Smith STET
Hugo Award for Best Novella

Harry Turtledove

Honored for : Down in the Bottomlands

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Harry Turtledove Down in the Bottomlands
G. David Nordley Into the Miranda Rift
Harlan Ellison Mefisto in Onyx
Walter Jon Williams Wall, Stone, Craft
Jack Cady The Night We Buried Road Dog
Pat Murphy An American Childhood
Hugo Award for Best Short Story

Connie Willis

Honored for : Death on the Nile

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Terry Bisson England Underway
Bridget McKenna The Good Pup
Connie Willis Death on the Nile
Martha Soukup The Story So Far
Mike Resnick Mwalimu in the Squared Circle
Hugo Award for Best Novelette

Charles Sheffield

Honored for : Georgia On My Mind

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Charles Sheffield Georgia On My Mind
John Kessel The Franchise
Nancy Kress Dancing on Air
Bruce Sterling Deep Eddy
Terry Bisson The Shadow Knows
Hugo Award for Best Semiprozine

Andrew I. Porter

Honored for : Science Fiction Chronicle

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Andrew I. Porter Science Fiction Chronicle
Dean Wesley Smith Pulphouse: The Hardback Magazine
Jonathon E. Bond Pulphouse: The Hardback Magazine
Charles N. Brown Locus
Algis Budrys Tomorrow Speculative Fiction
David G. Hartwell The New York Review of Science Fiction
Kathryn Cramer The New York Review of Science Fiction
Ariel Haméon The New York Review of Science Fiction
Tad Dembinski The New York Review of Science Fiction
David Pringle Interzone
Hugo Award for Best Original Art Work

Stephen Hickman

(for Space Fantasy Commemorative Stamp Booklet by Stephen Hickman [US Postal Service, 1993])

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Stephen Hickman
for Space Fantasy Commemorative Stamp Booklet by Stephen Hickman [US Postal Service, 1993]
Thomas Canty
for the cover of The Little Things by Bridget McKenna [F&SF Oct/Nov 1993]
Keith Parkinson
for the cover of Cold Iron by Michael Swanwick [Asimov's Nov 1993]