Awards & Winners

Amar Kant

Date of Birth 01-July-1925
Place of Birth Uttar Pradesh
Nationality India
Profession Writer
Amar Kant is a noted writer of Hindi literature. His novel Inhin Hathiyaron Se earned him the Sahitya Akademi Award in 2007, and Vyas Samman in 2009. He has been awarded Jnanpith Award for the year 2009. Amar Kant is considered as one of the prominent writers of the story writing tradition of Premchand but certainly is credited to add something better in that tradition by his own individuality. Amar Kant is best known for his short stories although he has published six novels until now. His short stories, such as Deputy Collectory, Dopahar ka Bhojan, Zindagi aur Jonk and Hatyaare, are considered milestones in post-Independence fiction. He started writing in a period when the Nai Kahani movement was heralding a big thematic and structural shift, and almost overshadowed the tradition of Premchand which used to be the mainstream fiction in Hindi. This movement focussed more on urban settings, individual characteristics, man-woman relationships, and so on, in place of people in villages and small towns. The scene was dominated by authors such as Mohan Rakesh, Kamaleshwar and Rajendra Yadav, aggressive advocates of the movement as a new metaphor for and of modern society.

Awards by Amar Kant

Check all the awards nominated and won by Amar Kant.


Jnanpith Award