Awards & Winners

Ambassador Book Award

The Ambassador Book Award is awarded annually by the English Speaking Union. It recognizes important literary works that contribute to the understanding and interpretation of American life and culture. Winners of the award are considered literary ambassadors who provide, in the best contemporary English, an important window on America to the rest of the world. A panel of judges, currently chaired by author Maureen Howard, selects books out of new works in the fields of fiction, biography, autobiography, current affairs, American studies and poetry. The award was established in 1986. Since then, winners have included books by such notable authors as Tom Wolfe, Joan Didion, Raymond Carver, Gore Vidal, John Cheever, John Updike, Don Delillo, Philip Roth, and Annie Proulx.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Ambassador Book Award since 1986.

Ambassador Book Award


Check all the winners of 2010 Ambassador Book Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
James Mann
Honored for : The Rebellion of Ronald Reagan: A History of the End of the Cold War
Morris Dickstein
Honored for : Dancing in the Dark: A Cultural History of the Great Depression
Colum McCann
Honored for : Let the Great World Spin
J.D. McClatchy
Honored for : Mercury Dressing: Poems