Awards & Winners

British Fantasy Award

The British Fantasy Awards are administered annually by the British Fantasy Society and were first awarded in 1976. Prior to that they were known as The August Derleth Fantasy Awards. First awarded in 1972 only for novels, the number of award categories increased and in 1976 the BFS renamed them collectively the British Fantasy Awards. The current award categories are Best Novel, Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Small Press, Best Artist, Best Anthology, Best Collection, while the Karl Edward Wagner Award is given at the discretion of the BFS committee. The membership of the BFS vote to determine recommendations, short-lists and winners of the awards.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the British Fantasy Award since 1972.

British Fantasy Award


Check all the winners of 2009 British Fantasy Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Graham Joyce
Honored for : Ascent of Demons
Tim Lebbon
Honored for : The Reach of Children
Allyson Bird
Honored for : Bull Running for Girls
Stephen Jones
Honored for : The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 19
Stephen Jones, Basil Copper
Honored for : Basil Copper: A Life in Books