Awards & Winners

Comstock Prize in Physics

Comstock Prize in Physics

The Comstock Prize in Physics is awarded by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences "for recent innovative discovery or investigation in electricity, magnetism, or radiant energy, broadly interpreted." Honorees must be residents of North America. Named after Cyrus B. Comstock, it has been awarded about every five years since 1913.
Date Established : 1913

Check all the winners of Comstock Prize in Physics presented under Comstock Prize in Physics since 1913 .

Charles L. Bennett

(For his mapping of the cosmic microwave background and determining the universe's age, mass-energy content, geometry, expansion rate, and reionization epoch with unprecedented precision.)

John N. Bahcall

(For his many contributions to astrophysics, especially his definitive work on solar models and his crucial role in identifying and resolving the solar neutrino problem.)

John Clarke

(For his major contributions to the development of superconducting quantum interference devices (SQUIDS) and their use for scientific measurements, especially involving electricity, magnetism, and electromagnetic waves.)

Erwin Hahn

(For his revolutionary discoveries in magnetic resonance and coherent optics, in particular for the Hahn Spin Echo, the Hartman-Hahn Cross-polarization, and self-induced transparency.)

Charles Pence Slichter

(For his seminal contributions to the development and application of magnetic resonance in condensed matter, including the first experimental proof of pairing correlations in superconductors and fundamental studies in surface science and catalysis.)

Chu Ching-wu, Maw-Kuen Wu

(For discovery of superconductivity in yttrium barium copper oxide and similar compounds above the boiling point of nitrogen -- a major scientific and technological breakthrough.)

William Shockley

(For his pioneering investigations and exposition of electric and magnetic properties of solid materials; in particular for his researches in the conduction of electricity by electrons and holes in semiconductors.)

Merle Tuve

(For his pioneering work on the upper atmosphere and his development of the electrical pulse method of study; for his pioneering work in nuclear physics utilizing the electrostatic generator; and for his development of the proximity fuse.)

Donald William Kerst

(For his pioneer work in connection with the development of the betatron and the results which he obtained with this new and powerful scientific tool.)

Percy Williams Bridgman

(For his investigations leading to increased understanding of the electrical constitution of matter.)

Clinton Davisson

(In recognition of his experimental work demonstrating that under certain conditions, electrons behave as we would expect trains of waves to behave.)