Awards & Winners

Lambda Literary Award

Lambda Literary Awards are awarded yearly by the US-based Lambda Literary Foundation to published works which celebrate or explore LGBT themes. Categories include Humor, Romance and Biography. To qualify, a book must have been published in the United States in the year current to the award. The Lambda Literary Foundation states that its mission is "to celebrate LGBT literature and provide resources for writers, readers, booksellers, publishers, and librarians - the whole literary community." The awards were instituted in 1988. The program has grown from 14 awards in early years to 22 awards today. Early categories such as HIV/AIDS Literature were dropped as the prominence of the AIDS crisis within the gay community waned, while categories for bisexual and transgender literature were added as the community became more inclusive. In both the bisexual and transgender categories, one or two awards may be presented annually; if the number of submissions in a given year warrants, then separate awards for fiction and non-fiction are presented, while a smaller number of submissions results in a single award. In addition to the primary literary awards, the Lambda Literary Foundation also presents a number of special awards. The Pioneer Award is presented as a lifetime achievement award to a distinguished figure in the history of LGBT literature; the Bridge Builder Award is presented to a person, regardless of sexuality, who has been a prominent ally and advocate of the LGBT community; and the Trustee Award is presented to a writer who has made a considerable contribution to a wider awareness and understanding of the lives of LGBT people.

|   26th Lambda Literary Awards  |
Lambda Literary Award Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Lambda Literary Award since 1988.

Lambda Literary Award


Check all the winners of 2014 Lambda Literary Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)