Awards & Winners

Nestlé Smarties Book Prize

The Nestlé Children's Book Prize, and Nestlé Smarties Book Prize for a time, was a set of annual awards for British children's books that ran from 1985 through 2007. It was administered by Booktrust, an independent charity that promotes books and reading in the UK, and sponsored by Nestlé, the manufacturer of Smarties candy. It was one of the most respected and prestigious prizes for children's literature. There were three award categories defined by audience ages 0 to 5 years, 6 to 8 years, and 9 to 11 years. Silver and bronze runners-up in each category were introduced in 1996 and designation of one overall winner was abandoned at the same time Eligible books were written by UK citizens and residents and published during the preceding year. The shortlists were selected by a panel of adult judges, finally chaired by Julia Eccleshare, children's books editor for The Guardian. First, second, and third places were determined by British schoolchildren—at least finally, by vote of "selected school classes" The prize was discontinued in 2008 by what was described as a "mutual" decision from Booktrust and Nestlé, with "no hostility". Explaining their reasons for this decision, Booktrust stated it had "been reviewing the organisation's priorities and how prizes and awards fit in with its strategic objectives", while Nestlé was "increasingly moving its community support towards the company strategy of nutrition, health and wellness." Additionally, they said that it was a "natural time to conclude" and that were "confident that increased importance has been placed on children's books."

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize since 1985.

Nestlé Smarties Book Prize


Check all the winners of 2007 Nestlé Smarties Book Prize.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Matt Haig
Honored for : Forest
(Gold Award, 9-11 years )
Chris Riddell
Honored for : Ottoline and the Yellow Cat
(Gold Award, 6-8 years )
Sean Taylor
Honored for : When a Monster is Born
(Gold Award, 0-5 years )