Awards & Winners

World Fantasy Award for Best Collection

World Fantasy Award

The World Fantasy Awards are given each year by the World Fantasy Convention for the best fantasy fiction published in English during the previous calendar year. The awards have been described as one of the three most prestigious speculative fiction awards, along with the Hugo and Nebula Awards. The World Fantasy Award for Best Collection is given each year for collections of fantasy stories by a single author published in English. A collection can have any number of editors, and works in the collection may have been previously published; awards are also given out for anthologies of works by multiple authors in the anthology category. The World Fantasy Award for Best Collection has been awarded annually since 1975, though from 1977 through 1987 anthologies were admissible as nominees. Anthologies were split into a separate category beginning in 1988; during the 10 years they were admissible they won the award 7 times and were 38 of the 56 nominations. World Fantasy Award nominees and winners are decided by attendees and judges at the annual World Fantasy Convention. A ballot is posted in June for attendees of the current and previous two conferences to determine two of the finalists, and a panel of five judges adds three or more nominees before voting on the overall winner. The panel of judges is typically made up of fantasy authors and is chosen each year by the World Fantasy Awards Administration, which has the power to break ties. The final results are presented at the World Fantasy Convention at the end of October.
Date Established : 1988

Check all the winners of World Fantasy Award for Best Collection presented under World Fantasy Award since 1988 .

Jeffrey Ford

Honored for : The Drowned Life

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Peter S. Beagle Strange Roads
Jeffrey Ford The Drowned Life
Kelly Link Pretty Monsters
Nisi Shawl Filter House
Shaun Tan Tales from Outer Suburbia

Rob Shearman

Honored for : Tiny Deaths

M. Rickert

Honored for : Map of Dreams

Bruce Holland Rogers

Honored for : The Keyhole Opera

Margo Lanagan

Honored for : Black Juice

Elizabeth Hand

Honored for : Bibliomancy

Jeffrey Ford

Honored for : The Fantasy Writer's Assistant and Other Stories

Nalo Hopkinson

Honored for : Skin Folk

Andy Duncan

Honored for : Beluthahatchie and Other Stories

Charles de Lint

Honored for : Moonlight & Vines

Stephen R. Donaldson

Honored for : Reave the Just and Other Tales

Karen Joy Fowler

Honored for : Black Glass

Brian McNaughton

Honored for : The throne of bones

Jonathan Lethem

Honored for : The Wall of the Sky, the Wall of the Eye

Gwyneth Jones

Honored for : Seven Tales and a Fable

Bradley Denton

Honored for : The Calvin Coolidge Home for Dead Comedians and A Conflagration Artist

Ramsey Campbell

Honored for : Alone with the Horrors: The Great Short Fiction of Ramsey Campbell 1961\u20131991

Jack Cady

Honored for : The Sons of Noah & Other Stories

Lucius Shepard

Honored for : The Ends of the Earth

Carol Emshwiller

Honored for : The Start of the End of It All and Other Stories

Richard Matheson

Honored for : Richard Matheson: Collected Stories

Gene Wolfe

Honored for : Storeys from the Old Hotel

Harlan Ellison

Honored for : Angry Candy

Lucius Shepard

Honored for : The Jaguar Hunter