Awards & Winners

Corporation for Public Broadcasting

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting is a non-profit corporation created by an act of the United States Congress and funded by the United States federal government to promote public broadcasting. Between 15 and 20 percent of the aggregate revenues of all public broadcasting stations have been funded from federal sources, principally through the CPB. The CPB was created on November 7, 1967, when U.S. president Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Public Broadcasting Act of 1967. The new organization initially collaborated with the existing National Educational Television network. In 1969, the CPB talked to private groups to start the Public Broadcasting Service. In 1970, the CPB formed National Public Radio, a radio network consisting of public stations. The CPB provides some funding for the PBS, NPR, and, to a lesser extent, for other broadcasters that are independent of those organizations. In more recent years, the CPB has started funding some Internet-based projects.

Awards by Corporation for Public Broadcasting

Check all the awards nominated and won by Corporation for Public Broadcasting.


Peabody Award
Honored for : 180 Days: A Year Inside an American High School


Peabody Award
Honored for : King Corn